HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Fervor Coulee Bluegrass Blog Subscribe to Fervor Coulee Bluegrass

IBMA Industry and Momentum Award Nominees announced

Donald Teplyske  |  July 6, 2021

From the International Bluegrass Music Association:

Nashville, TN, July 8, 2021 – The International Bluegrass Music Association announced the nominees for this year's IBMA Industry Awards and IBMA Momentum Awards, which will be presented during IBMA World of Bluegrass, September 28-October 2. The announcement was made earlier this morning on SiriusXM Bluegrass Junction.

"Through these awards, the bluegrass music community celebrates industry professionals and our rising stars," said IBMA's Executive Director Pat Morris. "The IBMA Industry Awards recognize the exceptional contributions of those talented professionals who are essential to bluegrass music. The IBMA Momentum Awards highlight early-stage professionals making their mark on bluegrass music and the mentors and others involved in the industry who provide guidance and support. Congratulations to all of our nominees, and we look forward to seeing you in Raleigh!"

The IBMA Momentum Awards will take place Wednesday, September 29; the IBMA Industry Awards will take place Thursday, September 30. Specific times and additional details for both events, and for other IBMA World of Bluegrass events, will be shared in the coming weeks across the organization's social media platforms, through email notification, and at


The Industry Awards recognize outstanding work in categories including Broadcaster of the Year, Event of the Year, Graphic Designer of the Year, Liner Notes of the Year, Writer of the Year, Sound Engineer of the Year, and Songwriter of the Year.

Nominees in each category are selected by specially appointed committees made up of bluegrass music professionals who possess significant knowledge of that field. The recipient of each award is decided on by the Panel of Electors, an anonymous group of veteran bluegrass music professionals selected by the IBMA Board of Directors.

The 2021 IBMA Industry Awards nominees are:

Broadcaster of the Year Kyle Cantrell Barb Heller Brad Kolodner Peter Thompson Alfred (Big Al) Weekley

Event of the Year Blueberry Bluegrass Festival CBA Jam-a-Thon Porch Pride – A Bluegrass Pride Queer-Antine Festival TBS (Tomorrow's Bluegrass Stars) Online Bluegrass Festival Friday Nights Live at Lorraine's Coffee House & Music

Graphic Designer of the Year Audrey Fletcher Ellen Silva Kevin Slick Grace van't Hof Carla Wehby

Liner Notes of the Year Albert Ihde – Bluegrass Country Soul, Various Artists Daniel Mullins – Industrial Strength Bluegrass: Southwestern Ohio's Musical Legacy, Various Artists Ted Olson – We Shall All Be Reunited: Revisiting the Bristol Sessions, 1927-1928, Various Artists Tim Stafford – California Autumn, Tony Rice

Songwriter of the Year Mark "Brink" Brinkman Becky Buller Thomm Jutz Rick Lang Jon Weisberger

Sound Engineer of the Year Scott Barnett Adam Engelhardt Anna Frick David Glasser Aaron Ramsey

Writer of the Year Stacy Chandler Emma John David McCarty Dan Miller Tristan Scroggins


The Momentum Awards recognize both musicians and bluegrass industry professionals who, in the early stages of their careers, are making significant contributions to or are having a significant influence upon bluegrass music. These contributions can be to bluegrass music in general, or to a specific sector of the industry. The Mentor Award, in contrast to the other Momentum Awards, recognizes a bluegrass professional who has made a significant impact on the lives and careers of newcomers to the bluegrass industry.

Nominees are chosen through a multi-stage process by committees made up of respected musicians and industry leaders in the bluegrass world.

The 2021 IBMA Momentum Award nominees are:

Mentor of the Year Louisa Branscomb Cathy Fink Rick Lang Wyatt Rice Travis Stimeling

Momentum Industry Involvement Adam Kirr Kara Kundert Mary Beth Martin Maria Wallace

Momentum Vocalist of the Year Katie Greer Abby Latocha Caroline Owens Jaelee Roberts Leanne Thorose

Momentum Instrumentalist of the Year (2 selected) Daisy Caire Maddie Denton Jacob Metz Julian Pinelli Liam Purcell Miles Quale Teo Quale

Momentum Band of the Year Crying Uncle The Kody Norris Show Lindley Creek Stillhouse Junkies Theo and Brenna

# # #

IBMA World of Bluegrass is the most important week in bluegrass! The week encompasses four events: the IBMA Business Conference, September 28-30; the IBMA Bluegrass Ramble, an innovative series of showcases taking place September 28-30 in downtown Raleigh and at the Raleigh Convention Center; the 32nd Annual IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards, scheduled for Thursday evening, September 30; and IBMA Bluegrass Live! powered by PNC, October 1-2, a two-day festival. IBMA Bluegrass Live! features the best of the best in bluegrass today, benefiting the IBMA Trust Fund—a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that assists bluegrass professionals during financial emergencies—and introducing the music to thousands of new fans every year.

About IBMA

IBMA – the International Bluegrass Music Association – is the non-profit music association that connects, educates, and empowers bluegrass professionals and enthusiasts, honoring tradition and encouraging innovation in the bluegrass community worldwide.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube