The Barefoot Movement - Figures of the Year
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Figures of the Year (Self-released, 2013)

The Barefoot Movement

Reviewed by Robert Wooldridge

The second release from Johnson City, Tenn.'s The Barefoot Movement is a mix of bluegrass, folk and old time country. The bluegrass influence is most prominent, particularly with the original tunes from primary vocalist and songwriter Noah Wall. Wall wrote or co-wrote half of the 16 songs, including "Chasing Shadows" and "Second Time Around" on which her vocals are reminiscent of Natalie Maines' work on the Dixie Chicks' "Home."

Wall's "River Song" has an old time country feel to it, while her collaboration with band mate Tommy Norris "Do What You Please" has a touch of modern folk/rock. Wall's stronger compositions are the melancholy "Should Have Known" ("Nobody keeps secrets/ Especially not their own") and "Too Long in One Place" ("My heart is on fire for the things I haven't done/And I've yet to grow tired of being on the run").

Guitarist Quentin Acres takes the lead vocals on his original "Restless Heart" and the traditional "Going Across the Sea," while bassist Hasee Ciaccio gets her turn on lead vocals on the traditional "Little Satchel." The band (Wall on fiddle, Acres on guitar, Norris on mandolin, Ciaccio on stand-up bass, banjo and ukulele) also shine on a trio of instrumentals including Norris' original "Sheepherder" and covers of "Shucking the Brush" and "28th of January." One of the stronger tracks is the closing "No Rain," an effective cover of the 1993 Blind Melon alternative rock hit.

With Walls' strong vocals and solid musicianship throughout, this is an entertaining collection.

CDs by The Barefoot Movement

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook