The Highwomen debut; Gayle returns 16 years later
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

The Highwomen debut; Gayle returns 16 years later

Thursday, September 5, 2019 – Super group The Highwomen made its debut today with a self-titled dozen-song release. The group consists of Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Amanda Shires and Natalie Hemby, best known for her songwriting. The quartet is focused on the role of women in society, including in the music business. The group made its debut at this year's Newport Folk Festival.

Crystal Gayle released her first album in 16 years, "You Don't Know Me," which includes the first ever recording with her sister, Loretta Lynn. Gayle recorded "Put It Off Until Tomorrow" with Lynn and sister Peggy Sue. While they have been in concert together, Gayle and Lynn had never recorded together. The set includes many standards including Willie Nelson's "Hello Walls" and Hank Williams' "You Win Again."

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube