Jarosz announces new album
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Jarosz announces new album

Wednesday, March 25, 2020 – Three-time GRAMMY winner Sarah Jarosz announced the June 5 release of "World On The Ground" (Rounder Records), her first new album in four years.

The soulful collection - produced by John Leventhal (Rosanne Cash, Elvis Costello) and recorded in his Manhattan home studio - follows Jarosz's Grammy-winning 2016 release "Undercurrent" (Rounder).

The disc is a collection of stories both real and imagined exploring the tension and inertia of small-town living. Jarosz, a native of Wimberley, Texas (pop. 2,626) and current New York City resident, explores the desire for escape set against the ease of staying put.

"World On the Ground" takes its title from "Pay It No Mind," in which wisdom is passed down through song by a bird looking down at the world: "When the world on the ground is gonna swallow you down, sometimes you've got to pay it no mind." The song's "little bird stretching her wings" graces the album's cover, an Erin E. Murray painting gifted to Jarosz from her parents.

In addition to her solo work, she is also a member of the Grammy-winning group I'm With Her and is a frequent guest on Live From Here with Chris Thile. The multi-instrumentalist first started with the mandolin at age nine and earned her first GRAMMY nomination at age 18 for her 2009 debut, "Song Up in Her Head."

The tracklist is:
1. Eve
2. Pay It No Mind
3. Hometown
4. Johnny
5. Orange and Blue
6. I'll Be Gone
7. Maggie
8. What Do I Do
9. Empty Square
10. Little Satchel

More news for Sarah Jarosz

CD reviews for Sarah Jarosz

CD review - Undercurrent No longer just a startlingly talented young bluegrass musician, on her latest, Sarah Jarosz shows her growth both as a person and an artist. This is her first recording done while she wasn't in either high school or college, the first since her move to New York City three years ago, and the first time she has included only new original material. It may be the middle one of those firsts that had the most influence on the end results; there is little to no traditional bluegrass material here ...
CD review - Build Me Up From Bones Aging has worked wonders for Sarah Jarosz because she sounds better and better with each release. On her third disc, the Texas native, who occupies a musical turf straddling bluegrass, country and acoustic music, Jarosz proves to be more confident than ever in her vocal delivery. There's some bite in Fuel the Fire with a lot of banjo, courtesy of Jarosz herself, plucking going on all around here. Jarosz shines on the pared down, low key take on Dylan's Simple Twist of Fate with a ...
CD review - Follow Me Down For those of us who have been around long enough to remember browsing through long racks of LPs at the local record store (remember them?), one of the oldest tricks in evaluating an album from a new, unknown artist is to scan the liner notes to see who the sidemen are - the principle being, you can judge an artist by the company he or she keeps. In the CD age, that's not always possible since the credits are often shrink-wrapped away on the inside, but in the case of Sarah Jarosz, it's a ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook