Howard tops Americana nominations
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Howard tops Americana nominations

Monday, June 15, 2020 – Brittany Howard topped the Americana Music Association nominees for its 19th annual Americana Honors & Awards with five this morning.

Brandi Carlile, Tanya Tucker and Nathaniel Rateliff snagged four, while The Highwomen took three nominations.

This year, the association has decided to further highlight the wide breadth of exemplary talent in the Americana music community by expanding its award categories to include five nominations instead of four, with the exception of "Song of the Year" totaling six due to a nomination tie.

Due to COVID-19, the AMERICANAFEST, during which the honors and awards show is held each September, was canceled last week. However, the awards show will go on, although it was unclear whether it would be virtual or in person. Nominees are:

Album of the Year
"And It's Still Alright," Nathaniel Rateliff, Produced by James Barone, Patrick Meese and Nathaniel Rateliff
"Country Squire," Tyler Childers, Produced by David Ferguson and Sturgill Simpson
"The Highwomen," The Highwomen, Produced by Dave Cobb
"Jaime," Brittany Howard, Produced by Brittany Howard
"While I'm Livin'," Tanya Tucker, Produced by Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings

Artist of the Year:
Brandi Carlile
Brittany Howard
John Prine
Tanya Tucker

Duo/Group of the Year:
Black Pumas
Drive-By Truckers
The Highwomen
Buddy & Julie Miller
Our Native Daughters

Emerging Act of the year:
Black Pumas
Katie Pruitt
Aubrie Sellers
Billy Strings
Kelsey Waldon

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Ellen Angelico
Annie Clements
Brittany Haas
Zachariah Hickman
Rich Hinman

Song of the Year:
"And It's Still Alright," Nathaniel Rateliff, Written by Nathaniel Rateliff
"Bring My Flowers Now," Tanya Tucker, Written by Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth and Tanya Tucker
"Crowded Table," The Highwomen, Written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby and Lori McKenna
"My Love Will Not Change," Aubrie Sellers featuring Steve Earle, Written by Billy Burnette and Shawn Camp
"Stay High," Brittany Howard, Written by Brittany Howard
"Thoughts and Prayers," Drive-By Truckers, Written by Patterson Hood

The winners of each category will be announced during the Americana Honors & Awards on Wednesday, Sept. 16 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Ticketing information will be announced as plans unfold.

"With that said, the health and safety of the Americana music community is the association's utmost concern, and the event organizers will continue to monitor the COVID-19 situation closely while following all national, state and local guidelines as they approach the scheduled ceremony date," the AMA said.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook