Welch announces release of "Boots No. 2"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Welch announces release of "Boots No. 2"

Friday, July 17, 2020 – Gillian Welch announced the digital release of "Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs" on July 31 via Acony Records, the independent record label she and partner David Rawlings founded.

The new collection is unearthed from a cache of home demos and reel-to-reel recordings and is the second release of archival music from Welch and Rawlings. This 48-song collection, spread over three volumes and produced by Rawlings, was recorded between the making of "Time (The Revelator)" and "Soul Journey."

"Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs, Vol. 2" and "Vol. 3" will follow in the coming months.

Welch also released the first two songs from the collection, "Strange Isabella" and "Mighty Good Book."

"We stashed these recordings away years ago," Rawlings and Welch said inn a statement. "Their shortcomings, real or imagined, technical or compositional, no longer seem bothersome today. Hearing them now is like seeing snapshots that captured moments the more formal portraits missed. So here we are hurrying them for release before the next tornado blows the whole shoebox away."

"These songs disorient you in time because Gillian Welch blends past and present in a way that makes the past, present." Jedediah Purdy writes in the album's liner notes. "To listen through 'Boots 2' is to feel you have gotten thoroughly lost, and maybe drunk or worse, in a landscape of strangers. It is also to feel that, wandering through that landscape, you might actually never have left your house, and it might not matter whether you did or not, since you have become a stranger to yourself. It is like going through weeks when the sun refuses to shine, or maybe your body just refused to go out and meet it, because the sun had become hateful to you. Saying that it feels this way - which it does - risks making this music sound like a bummer. It is not. It is a trip. It is also a joy."

"Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs" comes after 2016's B"oots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg," a double album of unreleased outtakes, alternate versions, and demos from the making of the 1996 debut album.

The pair recently released "All The Good Times," a new album of 10 acoustic covers recorded at home on a reel-to-reel. The album contains songs by Bob Dylan, John Prine, Elizabeth Cotten and Norman Blake, as well as new arrangements of traditional songs.

The track list is:
1. Johnny Dear
2. First Place Ribbon
3. Give That Man A Road
4. Mighty Good Book
5. Chinatown
6. Fly Down
7. Shotgun Song
8. Apalachicola
9. Strange Isabella
10. Little Luli
11. Valley of Tears
12. Blind On The Inside
13.Back Turn And Swing
14. Roll On
15.Honey Baby
16. Here Come The News

More news

CD reviews

The 16 tracks contained on Gillian Welch's "Boots No. 1: The Lost Songs, Vol. 1," were recorded between the albums "Time (The Revelator)," and "Soul Journey," which puts them between the years 2001 and 2003. This, then, is after Welch, along with her musical partner (guitarist and producer) David Rawlings, had put out her striking, late '90s albums, "Revival" and "Hell Among the Yearlings," which were followed by 2001's "Soul Journey. ...
CD review - Poor David's Almanack If award bling on the mantle and merit certificates on the wall are any measure, David Rawlings' place in the musical firmament is as secure as a tectonic plate. His work with Gillian Welch, the creative yin to Rawlings' yang, has been recognized with Grammy nominations and a variety of awards from various sources, but the adoration emanating from the pair's slavishly loyal fan base is the best indicator of their success over the past two decades. The thing is that for the majority ...
CD review - Boots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg Gillian Welch's album "Revival" was a revelation. The fact that T Bone Burnett - the ultimate roots rock curator - produced it, gave good reason to give it immediate attention, and insightful songs like "Barroom Girls" and "By the Mark" cemented the news that Welch was truly something special. With "Boots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg," Welch has expanded the original 10-track album into a 21-song opus. And while this extensive collection of ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook