Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame names nominees
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame names nominees

Tuesday, September 15, 2020 – Twelve songwriters were named as 2020 nominees for the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame - eight in the Songwriters category and four in the Songwriter/Artists category.

This year"s nominees in the Songwriters category are:
Kent Blazy
Shawn Camp
Don Henry
Brett James
Tony Martin
Steve Seskin
Tia Sillers
George Teren

The nominees in the Songwriter/Artists category are:
Kix Brooks
Steven Curtis Chapman
Steve Earle
Phil Vassar

All nominees experienced their first significant songs at least 20 years ago. Two songwriters and one songwriter/artist will be elected in these categories by their professional songwriter peers.

The three will be joined by two more. A separate body of veteran voters will elect a veteran songwriter and a veteran songwriter/artist, both of whom experienced their first significant (Top 20) songs at least 30 years ago. As part of that process, nominees in those categories are not announced.

The five inductees-elect are typically honored at the organization"s annual Gala, where they are officially inducted into the Hall of Fame; however, due to COVID-19, the 2020 event has been rescheduled to 2021. This year"s class will be honored alongside the Class of 2021 in a special double-sized Gala next fall.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook