"Make It Up As We Go" soundtrack drops today
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

"Make It Up As We Go" soundtrack drops today

Thursday, November 19, 2020 – The soundtrack to the scripted musical podcast "Make It Up As We Go," is out today featuring Miranda Lambert, Lindsay Ell and Scarlett Burke, star of the podcast.

Jared Gutstadt produced the set. Lambert was executive producer,, while Burke was a singer, songwriter, actor, and director of the series. Lambert's new track "Champion," written by Nicolle Galyon, Jeff Peters, Gutstadt and Burke, premiered today in the series finale and is also featured on the soundtrack.

Created by Audio Up Media CEO Gutstadt and Burke, "Make It Up As We Go" released Oct. 9 and has since surpassed a 500,000 streams over the course of its eight episode run. "Make It Up As We Go" tells the story of aspiring young singer-songwriter Charlotte Sayles, played by Burke, who pursues a career in the music industry and navigates the writers rooms of Nashville's country music publishers. Written by David Hudgins (Friday Night Lights, Parenthood and Game of Silence) and Brooks Hudgins, the cast also includes Billy Bob Thornton, Dennis Quaid, Craig Robinson and Bobby Bones. Ell and Lambert make appearances as themselves in addition to contributing original music.

The track list is:
1. "Make It Up As We Go" – Scarlett Burke
2. "Champion" – Miranda Lambert
3. "Workin' Out" – Lindsay Ell
4. "My Dove" – Scarlett Burke
5. "Dream Small" – Scarlett Burke
6. "Here's Lookin' at You" – Scarlett Burke
7. "Poison" – Scarlett Burke
8. "Back Alley Boo" – Scarlett Burke
9. "Breathe" – Scarlett Burke featuring Tyler Rich

More news for Miranda Lambert

CD reviews for Miranda Lambert

CD review - Platinum Cynics might think that Miranda Lambert is presumptuous in entitling her fifth disc "Platinum" and, in effect, assuming she'll get her plaque for selling 1 million units. But Lambert says that isn't the case, but more a matter of style, looks and feel. Lambert also wrote and discovered a lot of excellent songs that fit her quite well in an album in which she exposes her inner self as she matures. That may never more apparent than in the country rocker Lambert wrote ...
CD review - Revolution Every once in a while an album comes along that restores your faith in mainstream country music. Miranda Lambert's "Revolution" is just such a recording. It's not revolutionary, as the title might suggest. Instead, this CD is chock full of topnotch songs that are both memorable and sincere and never sound slick or overproduced. (Come to think of it, such old school values as these may in fact be revolutionary around Nashville). Lambert vocalizes a bit like a little girl at ...
CD review - Crazy Ex-Girlfriend Even though it sounds like a cliche from the big book of country songwriting, the truth is that, when the timing's right, a loser can end up being the biggest winner of all. Today's object lesson comes from Miranda Lambert and her sophomore album, the follow-up to her 2005 near-platinum debut, "Kerosene." Imagine for a moment if the then-19-year-old had actually taken the crown in 2003's Nashville Star and then been forced into the studio within weeks to be primped and ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook