Uncle Walt's Band live recording sees expanded light of day
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Uncle Walt's Band live recording sees expanded light of day

Wednesday, November 25, 2020 – What was once a private pressing almost four decades ago of Uncle Walt's Band in concert will see the light of day this winter.

The band, which consisted of Walter Hyatt, Champ Hood and David Ball, will see "Recorded Live at Waterloo Ice House" out on Feb. 5, 202` on Omnivore Recordings.

Originally released as a private pressing in 1982 on the band's Lespedeza label, "Recorded Live" was a document of their shows at Waterloo Ice House in Austin. At the time, 14 tracks were released.

The upcoming release follows an anthology and expanded versions of their self-titled debut and its follow-up," An American in Texas," on Omnivore Recordings.

The collection has been expanded to 21 tracks, with seven songs from the original release, four previously unissued alternate takes, and 10 previously unissued performances. The new package features photos, new liner notes from Peter Blackstock (music writer for the Austin American-Statesman), and mastering from Grammy-winning engineer Michael Graves.

The track listing is:
1. If I Don't Stop Crying
2. Mock, Mock, Mockingbird
3. Love Has Laid Me Down
4. Stagger Lee
5. Since I Fell For You
6. Honest Papas Love Their Mamas Better
7. Bye, Bye Baby
8. Motor City Man
9. The More I See You
10. Desiree
11. I Gotta Know
12. What Have You Done With My Love
13. I'm Going To Break My Heart In Two
14. Snowing Me Under
15. Country Boy
16. Lose Me Baby
17. Eddie's Girl
18. Georgia Rose
19. Diggaroo
20. Just A Little Understanding
21. Early Morning Love

More news for Uncle Walt's Band

CD reviews for Uncle Walt's Band

CD review - Recorded Live at Waterloo Ice House Originally released in 1982 as a 14-song set recorded at Austin's Waterloo Ice House, this expanded edition of 21 tracks by the trio of Walter Hyatt, Champ Hood and David Ball is an entertaining mix of originals and nicely chosen covers. Hyatt contributes one of the stronger country compositions with "Georgia Rose," later covered by Jimmie Dale Gilmore on his 2000 album "One Endless Night," a tear jerker about lost love ("Tonight I'm drinking while ...
CD review - An American in Texas "An American in Texas" was originally released in 1980 as a reunion album for the Austin-based Uncle Walt's Band with an enticing mix of jazz, folk, pop and country. The strongest country track is Champ Hood's honky-tonk tale of lost love "Last One To Know" in which Hood contemplates warning others not to suffer his fate ("Maybe I/Since I'm wise to your game/Should tell your new lover so"). Hood also contributes the jazzy "Sad As It Seems" ...
CD review - Uncle Walt's Band The self-titled debut album from Uncle Walt's Band already had a retro feel when it was initially released in 1974 with its appealing mix of jazz, folk, blues and country. The Spartanburg, S.C. trio of Walter Hyatt (guitar, vocals), Champ Hood (guitar, fiddle, mandolin, vocals) and David Ball (bass, vocals) became mainstays of the Austin music scene of the '70s following this effort. This reissue includes 11 previously unreleased tracks that nicely complement the original 11 tunes. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook