Smith goes for a "High Country Sound"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Smith goes for a "High Country Sound"

Friday, March 19, 2021 – Canaan Smith opts for a "High Country Sound" on his sophomore album, out April 19 on Florida Georgia Line's Round Here Records.

"This whole album felt like a chance to make something that I truly wanted, which was extremely liberating, but also nerve-racking because I became the one responsible for the project," Smith said. "I really focused on having fun with it, and I didn't feel pressure from anyone to do anything in particular. It all came from a place of my own personal love for these songs. Taking control and kind of steering the project in the way I wanted just made the outcome that much more special, and I couldn't be prouder of it."

The disc is the follow-up to "Bronco," which came out in 2015.

The 12-track project features everything from bluegrass-tinged, swampy singalongs like "Catch Me If You Can" featuring Brent Cobb to raw, lyrically driven ballads including "Like I Ain't Missin' You."

Smith made his debut as sole producer on eight of the 12 tracks, while coproducing the rest of the set alongside Florida Georgia Line's Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley.

The track list is:
1. "Grounded" (Canaan Smith, Jim Beavers, Ben Stennis) *
2. "Mason Jars & Fireflies" (Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder) *
3. "Colder Than You" (Canaan Smith, Jared Mullins, Corey Crowder) ^
4. "High Country" (Canaan Smith, Blake Redferrin, Corey Crowder) ^
5. "Catch Me If You Can" featuring Brent Cobb (Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley, Tyler Hubbard, Jason Afable) *
6. "Cabin In The Woods" (Canaan Smith, Josh Miller, Brian Kelley, David Garcia) ^
7. "American Dream" (Canaan Smith, Blair Daly) *
8. "Sweet Virginia" (Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley, Tyler Hubbard, Corey Crowder) ^
9. "Still" (Canaan Smith, Ben Stennis, Jim Beavers) *
10. "Like I Ain't Missin' You" (Canaan Smith, Blake Redferrin, Jason Afable) *
11. "Highway Blues" (Canaan Smith, Jake Rose, Brian Kelley) *
12. "Losin' Sleep Over A Girl" (Canaan Smith, Marv Green, Kyle Fishman) *

* Produced by Canaan Smith

^ Produced by Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley and Tyler Hubbard

More news for Canaan Smith

CD reviews for Canaan Smith

CD review - Bronco Canaan Smith closes his new album with the title track, a tribute to his brother who recently passed away in a car crash. Smith sings its words over a hushed, reverent musical backing as the song's words seemingly praise the vehicle, rather than dwelling too much on the gory details of Nathaniel's death. But once Smith sings, "It was a hell of a ride," you realize immediately he's singing about his beloved brother, not merely a motor vehicle. It's the kind of strong ...
CD review - Canaan Smith EP Virginia-native, Belmont educated, Canaan Smith was deemed as "One to Watch in 2012" after his debut single "We Got Us" charted that year. Still, it was nearly three years before his next single "Love You Like That" dropped this past summer. With more than 200,000 downloads, it went number 1 on Sirius XM, but fans have been forced to wait until now for an EP release. The lead off, "Love You Like That" is a tale of a self-proclaimed "nitty-gritty ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook