The Deslondes' Downing plans solo debut
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

The Deslondes' Downing plans solo debut

Monday, March 22, 2021 – Riley Downing, lead singer of New Orleans band The Deslondes, will release his debut solo album, "Start It Over," on May 14 via New West Records.

The 12-song set was co-produced by Andrijia Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Hurray for the Riff Raff) and John James Tourville of the Deslondes. The disc combines country, blues, folk, R&B, bluegrass, rock and soul.

Helping out are Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs, Greenhornes) on electric bass, Dennis Crouch (Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton, co-founder of Nashville's The Time Jumpers with Vince Gill) on double bass, Peter Keys (P-Funk and Lynyrd Skynyrd) on melotron, Meg Coleman (Yola) and Jimmy Lester (Los Straightjackets, Blaze Foley) on drums, Jeff Taylor (George Strait, Elvis Costello, The Time Jumpers) on keyboards, Derry Deborja (Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, John Prine) on Farfisa and Kyshona Armstrong on vocals.

The song "Good To See Ya" premiered today at Holler.

The first single was "Deep Breath."

The Deslondes mixes the folk and country of old Alan Lomax field recordings with the electrified soul of early Stax and Sun Records. The group's 2014 self-titled debut was followed by "Hurry Home." The band went on hiatus with Downing returning to his home in Missouri, helping his brother with his plumbing business and embarking on some short solo runs.

A passionate record collector, primarily of 45rpm singles, Downing and his Deslondes band mate John James Tourville decided it might be fun to collaborate and release a single. The songs kept coming and a full album was quickly realized with Downing and Tourville beginning a long-distance collaboration, adding longtime Deslondes producer Tokic into the musical chain. The three hashed out songwriting, arrangement and production ideas by passing demos back and forth from their respective homes - Downing in Missouri, Tourville in North Carolina and Tokic in Tennessee - during the lockdown. By the time the three met up in person at Tokic's Bomb Shelter Studios in Nashville, everyone had been quarantined at home for two months.

The tracking list is:
1. I'm Not Ready
2. Deep Breath
3. Coleman Rose
4. Good To See Ya
5. Looking Forward
6. Start It Over
7. Never Coming Home
8. Hey! Mister
9. Won't Somebody Play
10. Doing It Wrong
11. Crazy
12. I'm Right There With You

More news for The Deslondes

CD reviews for The Deslondes

CD review - Hurry Home On their eponymous 2015 debut album, The Deslondes cooked up an original musical gumbo befitting their New Orleans base, a steaming stewpot filled to the rim with flecks of country, folk, roots rock, Tex-Mex, Stax/Sun soul and, of course, all the sounds and passions elicited by the Crescent City. For their sophomore album, "Hurry Home," the Nawlins quartet - vocalist/guitarists Sam Doores and Riley Downing, vocalist/stand-up bassist Dan Cutler, vocalist/percussionist Cameron Snyder and ...
CD review - The Deslondes It's not hard to draw a laser straight line between The Deslondes' New Orleans home base and the quintet's twangy, tangy R&B/Soul gumbo on their eponymous debut. Just press play and marvel at the loping authenticity of the opening track and first single (how very Motown), the Fats Domino-flavored "Fought the Blues and Won." But subsequent listens reveal that The Deslondes aren't content to rely solely on the Crescent City's spice rack for their sonic stew; ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook