Allan gets "Ruthless"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Allan gets "Ruthless"

Wednesday, May 5, 2021 – Gary Allan announced Thursday night that he would release a new album, "Ruthless," on June 24.

Allan, whose last release was "Set You Free " in 2013, also disclosed that he would play shows starting later this month. "After a long wait and years of asking, I'm excited to tell you we've got new music," he said on YouTube. "I have a new album named 'Ruthless' and it will be coming out on June 25. The disc contains 13 songs including his latest single "Waste of a Whiskey Drink."

"Some of these songs are songs I recorded awhile ago, but I was really bummed that didn't make an album," he said. "There was no way for you guys to hear it."

Mark Bright and Tony Brown, two long-time mainstays of Allan's produced. He also brought back the band that played on "Smoke Rings in the Dark" to record the songs. " So it definitely feels like a full circ le moment, all the way back to the '90s," he said. "It's been a long time coming, and I'm so proud of this body of work. I can't wait for you all to hear it."

The album cover features a skeleton of a bronco with a cowboy sitting atop.

"It's been so long since I've had new music," he said. "I'm tired of telling everybody it's coming. Like I said earlier, it's been a long time coming. This collection of songs, I'm super excited for you guys to hear."

"We had most of it done before the pandemic," Allan said. "I did my last tracks in January, and then I went on vacation in February in Africa." After coming back, he did a few shows, and then Covid hit.

"The first part of the pandemic, I hid under a rock," he said, saying he also golfed "a little bit."

For the past few months, he lived on a yacht of a friend in the Dominican Republic.

"I'm back now, ready to tour," he said.

Allan also played snippets of several songs on the album, including the lead-off song, "My Temptation." The title track was written by busbee, Hilary Lindsay and Ryan Hurd. "Sex," written in part by Shane McAnally, also was played and had a more traditional feel. "Slide" was penned by Ross Ellis,

The track list is:
1. Temptation
2. Waste of a Whiskey Drink
3. Till It Felt Like You
4. Slide
5. Pretty Damn Close
6. High As I've Ever Been
7. What I Can't Talk About
8. Sex
9. Trouble Knows Trouble
10. Ruthless
11. Unfiltered
12. Little Glass of Wine
13. The Hard Way

"Little Glass of Wine" was a song from the late Jesse Winchester. "I have loved this song forever," he said. "It's kind of classic. I hope you like it as much as I do."

"Temptation" will be available on digital channels at midnight tonight.

Allan, 53, has released three singles since 2015, but none took off, resulting in the album, "Hard Way," never being released.

More news for Gary Allan

CD reviews for Gary Allan

CD review - Ruthless Much of Gary Allan's "Ruthless" leans toward the big, booming production so common in contemporary country today. Even so, Allen also has one of the most compelling male voices in country music; one that more often than not cuts right through all the over embellishments. On top of that, this 13-song collection has far more winners than losers. The biggest and best surprise is one titled "SEX." Yes, it's a song about sex – albeit, without being dirty. ...
CD review - Set You Free Gary Allan sets it straight where his musical universe is at when he starts the disc with the words "That was a tough good bye" in Tough Goodbye. You know this is not going to be an easy, joyful ride throughout these dozen songs mainly constricted to heartache and hurting, just as Allan's past would indicate. A look at the song titles - It Ain't the Whiskey, You Without Me, Hungover Heart - makes that abundantly clear. The number one hit Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain) is a ...
CD review - Get Off on the Pain The title may not evoke pretty images, and Gary Allan makes it clear where he's coming from, starting with the title. This is not the feel-good, pop country infiltrating the country airwaves these days. Life and especially love ain't easy at all, and Allan makes damn sure you know that in case it wasn't absolutely, positively clear. Allan's voice is killer, easily one of country's best, and he utilizes that to great effect here (as usual). There's a tremendous ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube