Allen expands upon "Bettie James"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Allen expands upon "Bettie James"

Monday, June 14, 2021 – Jimmie Allen will release "Bettie James Gold Edition," a deluxe version of "Bettie James," on June 25 via BBR Music Group/Stoney Creek Records.

The 16-track album contains nine brand new collaborations in addition to the seven previously featured on "Bettie James." Newly featured artists are Babyface, BRELAND, Keith Urban, LANCO, Lathan Warlick, Lindsay Ell, Little Big Town, LOCASH, Monica, Neon Union, Pitbull, teamwork. and Vikina.

"When it comes to music I love, I don't really get wrapped up in boundaries or genres. I thought we were gonna stop with the collaborations with 'Bettie James,' and then I was like man, there's so much music out there that I love, so many artists that I love, and I just wasn't done," Allen said of the impetus for "Bettie James Gold Edition."

"There's some pop. There's some rock. There's some country. There's some R&B. I got a chance to work with legends. When I was writing some of the songs, I was trying to picture each moment. I went to each artist to work with them so they could be who they are on the song and bring their greatness to the song. I feel like that's what makes the songs better. I'm super proud of the body of work of this album and can't wait for people to hear it."

"Bettie James Gold Edition" is a continued homage to Allen's late father, James Allen, and late grandmother, Bettie Snead, who passed away in September 2019 and February 2014 respectively.

The track list is:
"Get Country" – Jimmie Allen, LOCASH
"Home Sweet Hometown" – Jimmie Allen, LANCO
"Flavor" (feat. Vikina) – Jimmie Allen, Pitbull, teamwork.
"Somebody" – Jimmie Allen, BRELAND, Lathan Warlick
"Pray" – Jimmie Allen, Monica, Little Big Town
"Boy Gets A Truck" – Jimmie Allen, Keith Urban
"Livin' Man" – Jimmie Allen, Neon Union
"Tequila Talkin'" – Jimmie Allen, Lindsay Ell, teamwork.
"Forever" – Jimmie Allen, Babyface
"Good Times Roll" – Jimmie Allen, Nelly
"Drunk & I Miss You" – Jimmie Allen, Mickey Guyton
"Made For These" – Jimmie Allen, Tim McGraw
"Freedom Was A Highway" – Jimmie Allen, Brad Paisley
"Why Things Happen" – Jimmie Allen, Darius Rucker, Charley Pride
"When This Is Over" (featuring The Oak Ridge Boys) – Jimmie Allen, Tauren Wells, Rita Wilson

"This Is Us" – Jimmie Allen, Noah Cyrus

Allen recently announced the inaugural Bettie James Fest, his own music festival taking place Aug. 7 at Hudson Fields in Allen's hometown of Milton, Del. The line-up features Allen headlining and special guests DJ Jazzy Jeff, Neon Union, Hero the Band, Chuck Wicks and Chase Martin. Tickets are on sale now at "I'm hoping their memory lives on through this festival," he said of his father and grandmother.

More news for Jimmie Allen

CD reviews for Jimmie Allen

CD review - Tulip Drive Nearly smack dab in the middle of a mostly inconsequential collection of songs, Jimmie Allen hits us with "Habits & Hearts," a truly gripping song about substance abuse. "But habits are harder than hearts to break," Allen reminds us during the chorus. Had he given us 16 more songs like this jaw dropper, "Tulip Drive" could have been a truly great and memorable album. Ah, but he didn't. For some unknown reason, Allen found it necessary to include ...
CD review - Memory Lane Jimmie Allen's "Mercury Lane" is an album of likeable pop-country. Being likeable is always a good thing, but an album of music merely that is not a sonic description that leads directly to a hearty recommendation. The production on the full-length is big, bright - and in a word - pop. Allen may be a country guy, but these 15 songs will never be confused with real country sounds. Lyrically, Allen - who had a hand in writing most of this album - pushes many of the right radio ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook