CMA announces international award nominees
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

CMA announces international award nominees

Wednesday, August 18, 2021 – The Country Music Association announced the nominees for 2021's CMA International Awards, which honor artists and industry executives who have supported and impacted the growth and promotion of country interntionally.

Recognized in multiple categories and voted on by international members, nominees from Australia, Canada, Germany, The Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the U.S. were nominated.

In addition to the five existing CMA International Award categories, CMA added a new award this year, the Rob Potts International Live Music Advancement Award.

"We are delighted to honor those in the industry who have been instrumental in carrying country music forward into territories outside of the U.S. as this year's CMA International Awards nominees," said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. "And we are especially thrilled to be adding a new award to the slate this year recognizing those specifically in the live music industry cultivating and growing country music's reach. A true pioneer in the genre, few people exemplified this more than Rob Potts. He was a driving force in our efforts to expand country music internationally, and I am excited we are able to honor those following in Rob's footsteps."

Named after the late Australian promoter, this award recognizes outstanding achievements by an individual who has made important contributions to the live music industry by extending performance opportunities and building live audiences for country outside of the U.S.

A manager, promoter, CMA Board member and advocate for country, Potts' career spanned more than 30 years, opening doors for Australian artists including Tommy Emmanuel, Morgan Evans and Keith Urban. Promoters, booking agents, talent buyers, festival and venue bookers, and other live music industry professionals are eligible to receive this award, which is to be presented only when it is deemed that a recipient is worthy of recognition.

Nominees are:

Rob Potts International Live Music Advancement Award.
Michael Chugg (Australia – Chugg Entertainment and Chugg Music)
Sina Hall (Germany – Semmel Concerts Entertainment GmbH)
Nigel Hassler (U.K. – CAA)
Sigve Prestnes (Norway – Stageway Talent)
Troy Vollhoffer (Canada – Premier Global Production, Country Thunder Music Festivals and Big Valley Jamboree)

Jo Walker Meador International Award - This award recognizes outstanding achievement by an individual in advocating and supporting country's marketing development outside the U.S. 
Ilse DeLange (The Netherlands – Artist, founder of Spark Records, Firefly Publishing and Tuckerville Festival)
Tracy Martin (Canada – The Core Entertainment)
Natalie Waller (Australia – ABC Music and Events)
Chris York (U.K.– SJM Concerts, Country to Country Festival U.K.)

Wesley Rose International Media Achievement Award - This award recognizes outstanding achievements in the media as they relate to country outside the U.S. 
Mathias Bridfelt (Sweden – SVT)
Saniel Marriner (Australia – CMT Australia)
Ricky Marshall (U.K.– BBC Radio 2)
Charlotte Thompson (Canada – Red Umbrella P.R.)

International Artist Achievement Award - This award recognizes outstanding achievement by a U.S.-based artist who has demonstrated the most significant creative growth, development and promotion of the country industry outside of the U.S. during the eligibility period.
Brothers Osborne
Luke Combs
Dan + Shay
Maren Morris

International Country Broadcaster Award - This award recognizes outstanding achievement by a radio broadcaster or syndicated radio reporter outside the U.S. who has made important contributions for the development of country in his/her country.   
Dayna Bourgoin (Canada – Pure Country Radio/Bell Media)
Rita Jernquist (Sweden – Sveriges Radio P4)
Baylen Leonard (U.K. – Absolute Radio Country/Bauer Radio Limited)
Justin Thomson (Australia – KIX Country/Grant Broadcasters)

Jeff Walker Global Country Music Award - This award recognizes outstanding achievements by a country artist signed outside of the U.S. The artist must have furthered the popularity of country as well as brought attention to the country format in their foreign based territory.
Jill Johnson (Sweden)
Brett Kissel (Canada)
The Shires (U.K.)
The Wolfe Brothers (Australia)

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook