It's going to be a "Hell of a Holiday" for Pistol Annies
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

It's going to be a "Hell of a Holiday" for Pistol Annies

Thursday, September 30, 2021 – It's going to be a "Hell of a Holiday" season for Pistol Annies.

The trio - Miranda Lambert, Angaleena Presley and Ashley Monroe - announced Wednesday they would release a 13-song holiday album on Oct. 25.

While most of the songs appear to be originals, "If We Make It Through December" was penned by Merle Haggard and included on "Merle Haggard's Christmas Present" from 1973. "Sleigh Ride" was a hit for The Ronettes in 1963 on Phil Spector's "A Christmas Gift for You."

The track list is:
1. Hell of a Holiday
2. Snow Globe
3. Harlan County Coal
4. Come On Christmas Time
5. If we make it through December
6. Make You Blue
7. Leanin' on Jesus
8. The Only Thing I wanted
9. Believing
10. Happy Birthday
11. Sleigh Ride
12. Joy
13. Auld Lang Syne

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Hell Of A Holiday You just knew a Pistol Annies' holiday album would be a little bit twisted. Sometimes more "Merry Christmas from the Family" than, say, "Silent Night." Comprised of three song female voices – Miranda Lambert, Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley – "Hell of a Holiday" is mostly the sound of a group that just wanna have fun during the Christmas season. The album opens with its title cut, where these women get revved up for Christmas over a pounding drum ...
CD review - The Blade Ashley Monroe gains more acclaim for other projects than she does for her own solo efforts. Monroe is one third of side group Pistol Annies. She sang with Blake Shelton on his hit "Lonely Tonight." She received praise for her first proper solo album (her ill-fated Satisfied" was released three years after its completion by her former label, Sony), "Like a Rose," in 2013, although that was a release that stood on the strength of the songs because three singles produced zero hits. ...
CD review - American Middle Class Angaleena Presley is best known as being one-third of Pistol Annies, the very cool side group with Miranda Lambert and Ashley Monroe. For Presley, the Annies (she is "Holler Annie") was her calling card to putting out this debut disc at 37, but the Annies needn't be thought of as a fall back plan for the Kentucky native. What separates Presley apart is her very sharp songwriting. Presley brings story songs to the fore, but these aren't feel good, everything works out in the ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook