Kidd G expands upon being the "Down Home Boy"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Kidd G expands upon being the "Down Home Boy"

Thursday, December 23, 2021 – Kidd G will expand his debut album, with a special "Down Home Boy: Gone Since Last October" deluxe edition on Friday with four new songs.

Among those, his forthcoming track "I Don't Wanna" highlights his ability to blend genres withcountry.

Co-writing each song on the 18-track collection, the deluxe highlights Kidd G's Southern roots. His debut radio single was "Summer In A Small Town" and recently released "Paper Hearts (F-150)," and "Whiskey & Wine."

Growing up in the small Georgia town of Hamilton (population 1,130), Kidd G first found an audience through TikTok and SoundCloud, where he got his start posting songs he'd recorded with his friend Nolie Beats. In spring 2020, he caught the attention of Rebel Music, who signed him on the strength of his genre-warping talents. While early tracks like his debut single "Sorry" lean toward traditional hip-hop, he later brought an element of old-school country into his songwriting.

Kidd G later put out "Dirt Road," which helped build his following. "I love country because it feels so natural to me, and you can really tell stories in the songs," said Kidd G, naming Hank Williams Jr. among the artists he was raised on. He is signed to The Valory Music Co., part of the Big Machine umbrella.

The track list is:
1. "I Don't Wanna" | Morgan O'Connor, William Keating, Michael Robinson, Jake Saghi, Blake Redferrin, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
2. "Last October" | Mike Woods, Kevin White, Marc Scibilia, Jake Saghi, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
3. "Use A Drink" | Juan Guerrieri-Maril, Nicole Spooner, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
4. "Only 16" | Nicholas Thompson, Jake Mark Sordelet, Joseph Boyden, Jacob Saghi, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
5. "Down Home Boy" | Chris Destefano, Rhett Atkins, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
6. "Paper Hearts (F-150)" | Jesse Frasure, Ernest Smith, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
7. "What It's Like" | Kyle Fishman, Ben Hayslip, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
8. "If Heaven Had A Phone" | Bonnie Dymond, Jake Saghi, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
9. "2000 & IDK" | Johann Elliot, Bonnie Dymond, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
10. "Break Up Song" | Simon Jonasson, Nicole Spooner, Juan Guerrieri-Maril, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
11. "Whiskey & Wine" | Bonnie Dymond, Christopher Luc Nyhus, Dantavius Walker, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
12. "I Think I Love Her" | John Charles Reno Prentice, Jake Rose, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
13. "Summer In A Small Town" | John Thomas "J.T." Harding, Rhett Atkins, Jacob Rice, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
14. "Ordinary Girl" | Morgan O'Connor, William Keating, Blake Hubbard, Jarrod Ingram, Jacob Saghi, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
15. "UNKNWN Number" | Bonnie Dymond, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
16. "You Could Use Me" | Bonnie Dymond, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
17. "Folks Back Home" | Bonnie Dymond, Lawrence Stoll, Ryan Jeffrey Anderson, Jonathan Gabriel Horne
18. "Last Call" | Bonnie Dymond, Jonathan Gabriel Horne

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube