ACM honors Lambert, Stapleton, Wallen, Twain
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

ACM honors Lambert, Stapleton, Wallen, Twain

Wednesday, June 1, 2022 – The Academy of Country Music announced today the recipients of the Special Awards for the 57th ACM awards including the Triple Crown Award for Miranda Lambert, the Milestone Award for Morgan Wallen and the Spirit Award for Chris Stapleton.

Lambert will receive the prestigious ACM Triple Crown Award following her first win for ACM Entertainer of the Year at the 57th ACMs. Lambert qualified for the Triple Crown Award after winning ACM Top New Female Vocalist, ACM Female Vocalist of the Year and ACM Entertainer of the Year throughout her career, an honor only seven other artists have been awarded.

Stapleton was picked for the ACM Spirit Award. This award is presented to a singer-songwriter who is continuing the legacy of Merle Haggard by following his/her own path, crafting great songs and epitomizing Haggard's spirit through genuine performances and great storytelling.

Wallen will receive the ACM Milestone Award. This award is presented to a country artist, duo/group or industry leader for a specific, unprecedented or outstanding achievement in the field of country during the preceding calendar year.

In a difficult year, Wallen released "Dangerous: The Double Album," which did well commercially with 4.1 million units sold. Wallen's 55-show "THE DANGEROUS TOUR" has netted over 800,000 tickets sold in 2022 so far, with $3 from every ticket benefiting his More Than My Hometown Foundation. Wallen also suffered tremendous fallout from using the N word while drunk in Nashville last January.

Sonny Throckmorton and Shania Twain each was picked as a recipient of the ACM Poet's Award. This award is presented to a country songwriter for outstanding and longstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their career, with special consideration given to a song or songs' impact on the culture of country.

Throckmorton's songwriting career began in the late 1970s when he had 150 songs cut within a nine-month span. Between 1976 and 1980, a Throckmorton-penned song appeared on the charts almost every single week. Throughout his storied career, Throckmorton had more than 1,000 songs recorded by artists including Ray Charles, Merle Haggard, Alan Jackson, The Judds, George Strait and Tanya Tucker. He also co-wrote Merle Haggard's "The Way I Am," Jerry Lee Lewis' "Middle Age Crazy," George Strait's "The Cowboy Rides Away," and The Judds' 1984 ACM Song of the Year, "Why Not Me."

Twain has earned three ACM Awards and five GRAMMYS during her career. She is the top selling female pop artist of all time.

The ACM Icon Award will be handed to Connie Bradley. The award is presented to a country artist, duo/group or industry leader who, throughout their career, has advanced the popularity of the genre through their contributions in multiple facets of the industry, such as songwriting, recording, production, touring, film, television, literary works, philanthropic contributions and other goodwill efforts.

Bradley served more than three decades at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), championing songwriters. Bradley began her career with ASCAP as the company's first female membership representative, eventually rising to Senior Vice President and head of the Nashville office. Over the span of her career, Bradley's leadership contributed to ASCAP signing artists including Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Amy Grant, Alan Jackson, Reba McEntire, Brad Paisley, George Strait and Trisha Yearwood.

The ACM Lifting Lives Award goes to Paul Barnabee and Dwight Wiles. This award is presented to a country artist, duo/group or industry professional who is devoted to improving lives through the power of music, has a generosity of spirit and is committed to serving others. It is voted on by the ACM Lifting Lives Board of Directors.

Barnabee has supported ACM Lifting Lives throughout his career. Having served two consecutive years as the Chair of the ACM Lifting Lives Board of Directors, Barnabee played a key role in jumpstarting the ACM Lifting Lives COVID-19 Response Fund in 2020, bringing financial security to many in the Country Music community during their time of need.

Wiles' tenure on the organization's board dates back to before its 2008 rebranding, when it was still named the ACM Charitable Foundation. Wiles helped shape the organization's charitable efforts.

Duane Clark was chosen as the recipient of the ACM Service Award. This award is presented to an outstanding country artist, duo/group, or industry leader in recognition of years of dedication and service to the ACM.

Clark has been a co-owner of Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy, Inc. (FBMM) for over a decade. As President and Chief Operations Officer, Clark provided counseling and strategic support to clients ensuring their financial management and security. He has served 13 years on the Academy of Country Music Board of Directors.  

The ACM Film Award goes to "Yellowstone." The award recognizes an outstanding television movie, series or feature film released during the preceding calendar year which prominently features country.

Yellowstone tells the story of the Dutton family as they navigate treacherous conflict to maintain control of their family-owned Montana ranch amid tensions caused by political battles, shifting alliances, an expanding town, and a bordering Native American reservation. Artists such as Zach Bryan, Hayes Carll, Turnpike Troubadours, Whiskey Myers and Lainey Wilson have all had their music featured in the show.

HARDY was previously announced as winner of the ACM Songwriter of the Year Award.

The honors will be handed out Aug. 24 at the Ryman.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook