McBryde, Childers, Burgess, Bush release new music
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

McBryde, Childers, Burgess, Bush release new music

Friday, September 30, 2022 – Ashley McBryde and her collaborators welcome listeners to Lindeville on their new release "Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville." The 13-song disc includes performances from McBryde, Brothers Osborne, Brandy Clark, Aaron Raitiere, Pillbox Patti, Caylee Hammack and Benjy Davis. The themed-release offers a portrayal of the many characters that can inhabit the imaginary small town, Lindeville. The set was produced by John Osborne. McBryde and partners wrote during a weeklong exercise in a rural cabin outside Nashville

"Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?," the new album from Tyler Childers and his longtime band The Food Stamps, is out on Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records. Conceptualized as a three-part project, the eight songs are presented in a trio of distinct sonic perspectives — Hallelujah, Jubilee and Joyful Noise. Produced by Childers and The Food Stamps, the collection features a mix of new and traditional songs and was primarily recorded in guitarist's James Barker's home studio, Dragline Studios. The Hallelujah version captures Childers and the core band playing live in a single room over the course of two days, while the Jubilee version builds on it with the addition of strings, horns, background vocals aalong with dulcimer, mbira and sitar. Joyful Noise, consists of remixes created with DJ Charlie Brown Superstar (Brett Fuller) and includes samples from sources such as "The Andy Griffith Show," theologist Thomas Merton and comedian Jerry Clower as well as church service excerpts pulled from the Kentucky Center for Traditional Music archives.

Adam Doleac releases "Barstool Whiskey Wonderland" on Arista/Sony Music Nashville. After 10 years in Nashville, Doleac is releasing his debut. The former college baseball player at University of Southern Mississippi put 18 songs onhis release. Doleac has enjoyed writing success as Kane Brown, Gabby Barrett and Darius Rucker cut his songs.

Big Loud Records' Dallas-born singer Ben Burgess has been waiting for this day for almost 15 years. His debut album, "Tears the Size of Texas" – eight classic cowboy songs and two murder ballads all co-penned by the award-winning artist/writer – is out today. Burgess helped write the10songs with the likes of Kevin Kadish, Jesse Frasure, Brandy Clark, Josh Kerr, Randy Montana and Ashley Gorley.

Pennsylvania singer Warren Zeiders releases "717 Tapes: The Album," a collection of all of Zeiders' 717 Tapes singles and EP tracks in a single package including his recently released "Up To No Good." Zeideres has one release under his belt through Warner.

Kristian Bush's shared the third installment of his four-album layered release via Big Machine Label Group, "52- New Blue." Bush set out to create an assembly of love songs, but realized his quest led him to the re-discovery of sounds and experiences of the '90s. Bush, who found success as one half of Sugarland is also part of folk-rock duo Billy Pilgrim (formed in 1993). Bush wrote or co-wrote each of the 12 songs, and many of his co-writers fall into his '90s theme, having written popular hits in or around the decade. He teamed up with Billy Steinberg ("Like a Virgin," "True Colors") to pen "Diamond Motel," Matraca Berg ("Strawberry Wine," "You and Tequila") for "New Girl," Billy Montana ("Bring on the Rain" and "More Than a Memory") for "Mirror Behind the Bar" and Chris Barron of the Spin Doctors ("Two Princes," "Little Miss Can't Be Wrong") for "Sailing to Arizona."

More news for Ashley McBryde

CD reviews for Ashley McBryde

CD review - EP Never Will: Live From A Distance Ashley McBryde titled this six-song EP "Never Will: Live From a Distance," but just don't expect it to sound much like a typical live album. These songs were recorded live so fans could hear what they sound like live, it's true, but you won't hear any crowd cheering on it – just the music alone. With that said, though, it represents the cream of McBryde's quite productive crop. A couple of these songs lean toward McBryde's gothic side. ...
CD review - Never Will One of Ashley McBryde's breakthrough hits was the autobiographical "Girl Goin' Nowhere," about people who had cruelly cast doubts upon her music career aspirations. Now, in an act akin to paying it forward, McBryde opens with "Hang In There Girl," which admonishes a woman to keep on fighting the good fight because - eventually - it gets better. These 11 new songs prove McBryde is still going places, fascinating places. The tattooed McBryde may appear like a rebel, at ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube