Gilkyson goes "Home"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Gilkyson goes "Home"

Tuesday, May 16, 2023 – Eliza Gilkyson is out with the first single, "Safety Zone, from her upcoming album, "Home," set for released June 16 on her own imprint, Realiza Records.

The song came about after a bad accident Gilkyson suffered at last year's Kerrville Folk Festival in Texas.

"I left my car in gear when I pulled up and got halfway out of the car, which rolled forward and dragged me down a dirt road, over a low rock wall and into a tree," she said. "I don't know why I didn't die, and when I re-live it the math just doesn't add up, like how did I survive that? It felt miraculous, still does."

"Home" reunites Gilkyon with producer/multi-instrumentalist Don Richmond. Cameos include a duet with Robert Earl Keen, "How Deep," and with longtime friend Mary Chapin Carpenter on "Sparrow." "Witness" features Gilkyson's brother, L.A. musician Tony Gilkyson (X, Lone Justice, Chuck E. Weiss) on electric guitar. The epic storytelling ballad "Man in the Bottle" features snippets of her dad's songs — hit songwriter Terry Gilkyson ("Bare Necessities) — played by the Southwest's Western dance band, The Rifters, and longtime family friend Van Dyke Parks, who played in an early incarnation of her dad's band "The Easy Riders" when he was just a teenager.

The album wraps up with the title track "Home." Written by Karla Bonoff, the song reflects on the ways that home can be a sanctuary in the most difficult times.

Gilkyson said, "The pandemic changed our lives and our world forever, illuminating the sanctity of home and hearth, of trusted friendships and family, and a new deeper appreciation for the many little blessings we may have taken for granted before this cataclysmic shift occurred. It has been a time of terrible loss and insecurity about the future, as well as one of newfound resolve, connection and commitment. These songs were born out of all these conflicting forces coming into play while trying to find the balance."

The track listing is:
1. True North
2. World Keeps On Singing
3. How Deep
4. Sunflowers
5. Safety Zone
6. Witness
7. Here Comes the Night
8. Man In the Bottle
9. Sparrow
10. Home

More news for Eliza Gilkyson

CD reviews for Eliza Gilkyson

CD review - Songs From the River Wind New Mexico-based singer/songwriter Eliza Gilkyson's "Songs From the River Wind" is an entertaining mix of original and traditional tunes with touches of country, folk and bluegrass. After having focused largely on social themes in recent works, Gilkyson endeavored to take a break from politics and feature tunes that reflect her fondness for the Old West. Gilkyson's "Charlie Moore" is a folksy tribute to an inspirational friend from her youth ("Brought up as a ...
CD review - 2020 Eliza Gilkyson hasn't ascended to the upper ranks of todays's foremost singer/songwriters purely on happenstance alone. Her albums affirm a belief in music as an essential salve, especially in times of dire distress and turmoil. So considering the paralysis induced by the coronavirus, the state of the nation's political dysfunction and the distrust that's pervaded society in general, Gilkyson's soothing tones are needed more than ever. Granted, Gilkyson had no way of ...
CD review - Secularia A singular songwriter well regarded in the wider folk community, Eliza Gilkyson has built a career on crafting alluring albums that reflect her soul and sensitivity. "Secularia" is no exception, and if the title implies a certain kinship with more earthly matters, the songs themselves share spiritual sentiments that often conflict with the wider view of religion and the fanaticism that can drive its followers to extremes. In a recent interview, Gilkyson made it clear that she ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube