"Stay Right Here" with Russell
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

"Stay Right Here" with Russell

Friday, July 14, 2023 – Allison Russell released a new singe, "Stay Right Here," from her upcoming abum, "The Returner. "

The dance floor song`sees Russell channeling Diana Ross, Gloria Gaynor and Roberta Flack. The song features her Rainbow Coalition ensemble with special string arrangements written by Larissa Maestro, featuring Sista Strings.

"The Returner" will be released on Sept. 8 via Fantasy Records.

"Stay Right Here" is about resisting the siren songs of self-hatred, apathy and oblivion. It's about fighting the nihilistic forces of bigotry, fear and fascism. Right here, right now. The good fight, good trouble, it's a Freedom Song. It's about leaning into the fierce Survivor's Joy and the POWER of our worldwide rainbow coalition to reduce harm for all our children, for our planet, for all those yet to come. We are more than seeds - we're the soil and the water - the good ancestors. Every one of us, equal under the sun— we shall not be overcome. Our Circle is STRONG."

"The Returner" was written and co-produced by Allison along with dim star (her partner JT Nero and Drew Lindsay) and was recorded in December 2022 at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles. The "Rainbow Coalition" ensemble is Elenna Canlas, Elizabeth Pupo-Walker, Ganessa James, Joy Clark, Kerenza Peacock, Larissa Maestro, Mandy Fer (Sway Wild), Megan Coleman, Meg McCormick , SistaStrings (Chauntee and Monique Ross) , Wendy and Lisa (Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman aka The Revolution) and Wiktoria Bialic.

The new music is the follow-up to Russell's career-defining disc, "Outside Child."

The track list for "The Returner" is:
1. Springtime
2. The Returner
3. All Without Within
4. Demons
5. Eve Was Black
6. Stay Right Here
7. Shadowlands
8. Rag Child
9. Snake Life
10. Requiem

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube