Isbell succeeds at first with "Southeastern" and tries again
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Isbell succeeds at first with "Southeastern" and tries again

Tuesday, August 8, 2023 – Jason Isbell today announced the 10th anniversary reissue of his album, "Southeastern" on Sept. 29 via his Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers.

The remastered reissue will include demos and live versions of the songs.

"Southeastern" features 12 tracks and was considered one of Isbell's best albums.

This special anniversary reissue will feature a deluxe four-LP box set which includes the never-before-heard original demos and a brand-new live recording of the album from December 2022 at the Bijou Theatre in Knoxville, Tenn. An indie exclusive LP will also be available and comes pressed on transparent clearwater blue vinyl.

Track listings are:
Southeastern (Remastered)
1. "Cover Me Up" 2
. "Stockholm"
3. "Traveling Alone"
4. "Elephant"
5. "Flying Over Water"
6. "Different Days"
7. "Live Oak"
8. "Songs That She Sang in the Shower"
9. "New South Wales"
10. "Super 8"
11. "Yvette"
12. "Relatively Easy"

Southeastern Demos (Included With Deluxe Editions)
1. "Cover Me Up (Demo)"
2. "Stockholm (Demo)"
3. "Traveling Alone (Demo)"
4. "Elephant (Demo)"
5. "Flying Over Water (Demo)"
6. "Different Days (Demo)"
7. "Live Oak (Demo)"
8. "Songs That She Sang in the Shower (Demo)"
9. "New South Wales (Demo)"
10. "Yvette (Demo)"
11. "Relatively Easy (Demo)"

Southeastern Live (Included With Deluxe Editions)
1. "Intro (Live)"
2. "Cover Me Up (Live)"
3. "Stockholm (Live)"
4. "Traveling Alone (Live)"
5. "Elephant (Live)"
6. "Flying Over Water (Live)"
7. "Different Days (Live)"
8. "Live Oak (Live)"
9. "Songs That She Sang in the Shower (Live)"
10. "New South Wales (Live)"
11. "Super 8 (Live)"
12. "Yvette (Live)"
13. "Relatively Easy (Live)"

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Weathervanes Bob Dylan famously sang about how you don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows, and Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit do more than just gage wind direction with "Weathervanes." Isbell has a unique ability to get deep inside the heads of his various characters to reveal insightful patterns of thought and behavior. Along with his talented 400 Unit band, Isbell has given yet another smart set of songs. Isbell is especially adept at diagnosing pain points. ...
CD review - Georgia Blue Jason Isbell deserves kudos for putting a unique spin on the benefit album. Instead of throwing together a bunch of many times unrelated celebrities to pitch in, Isbell has brought together talented performers to cover Georgia-related songs and songs by Georgia-based artists. All proceeds support Black Voters Matter, Fair Fight and Georgia Stand-Up. Even if you may not support these groups, you will still enjoy this set of mostly familiar songs. The album opens and closes with two R.E.M. songs. ...
CD review - Reunions "It gets easier, but it never gets easy," Jason Isbell reminds us on the song "It Gets Easier." It's a simple couplet, utilizing small words, yet it expresses a big truth. Then, with the song's first verse, Isbell - a recovering alcoholic - relays a dream that finds him drinking again. "I woke up feeling fine/That's how I knew it was a dream," he explains, sounding both afraid and relieved. Yes, these words are personal for Isbell, but his message is ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube