Americana Association honors Avetts, Nickel Creek, Griffin
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Americana Association honors Avetts, Nickel Creek, Griffin

Saturday, September 9, 2023 – The Americana Music Association will honor The Avett Brothers, Patty Griffin, Bettye LaVette, Nickel Creek and George Fontaine Sr., with this year's Lifetime Achievement, Trailblazer and Legacy Award for its 22nd Annual Americana Honors & Awards show on Sept. 20.

The Avett Brothers from North Carolina have long been a staple of the Americana scene.

While it isn't exclusively a roots music label, "no record company has released music by more stalwarts of and innovators in Americana over the past 25 years than New West Records," the AMA said in a press release. Rodney Crowell, Kris Kristofferson, Delbert McClinton, Steve Earle, John Hiatt, Buddy and Julie Miller, and Billy Joe Shaver all have been on the label. Through nearly 500 releases, the label has also introduced newcomers like Lilly Hiatt, Jaime Wyatt and Nikki Lane, while sustaining important careers like that of Randall Bramblett. This year's Jack Emerson Award winner is New West co-founder and owner George Fontaine, Sr.

In the 1990s, when the Americana chart was new and rich with established women like Emmylou Harris and Lucinda Williams, Patty Griffin stood out as a striking new voice for the format's future, the AMA said.. She was named Americana Artist of the Year in 2007 and won two Grammy Awards while inspiring many other artists to interpret her work.

Bettye LaVette', a veteran soul singer, is this year's Legacy Award recipient. She had a career in the 1960s , but before a revival since 2005 with a string of albums on the Anti- label.

The three members of bluegrass band Nickel Creek – Seth and Sara Watkins and Chris Thile - literally grew up playing together and developed an extensive following. They have periodically gone on a hiatus, but released a new album this year.

"This year's Lifetime Achievement honorees represent the diverse sounds that contribute to the American roots music canon," said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association and Foundation. "Our honorees have inspired this community individually and have collectively changed the landscape of the music industry. We are truly humbled to be in the same room with them."

The association will also honor members of the music community with six member-voted annual awards, revealing the winners at the Ryman Auditorium.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube