Old Dominion, Rucker, Reba release new projects
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Old Dominion, Rucker, Reba release new projects

Friday, October 6, 2023 – Old Dominion drops "Memory Lane," the 18-song expanded version of their January sampler and early summer EP of the same name. This is the fifth full project of fifth full project, lead singer and guitarist Matthew Ramsey, lead guitarist/vocalist Brad Tursi, keyboardist/guitarist/accordion man Trevor Rosen and the rhythm section of bassist Geoff Sprung and drummer Whit Sellers.

Darius Rucker releases "Carolyn's Boy," his first CD in six years. Rucker named the release after his mom. "Carolyn's Boy" contains 14 songs, including the number one hit, "Beers And Sunshine" and the current single, "Fires Don't Start Themselves." "Ol' Church Hymn" features the trio Chapel Hart.

Reba McEntire releases her acoustic album "Not That Fancy." Reba teamed up with producer Dave Cobb to record stripped-down versions of some of her best known songs. The 14-track collection also features a brand new single, "Seven Minutes In Heaven." Other songs include "If You See Him, If You See Her" with Brooks & Dunn, "Does He Love You" with Dolly Parton and "The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia."

Drake White is out with a seven-song EP, "The Bridge." Marking a new post-recovery era for White after a life-changing on-stage stroke in 2019, the EP mixes country, rock and rootsy R&B. White co-wrote each song with hitmakers like Maren Morris, Ryan Hurd and Leslie Satcher. White also co-produced four songs and helmed the other three songs on his own. White and GRAMMY-winner Colbie Caillat sing together on an acoustic rendition of "Power of a Woman."

Hit songwriter John Morgan - best known for writing the GRAMMY-nominated and award-winning number one "If I Didn't Love You" for Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood – is out with his six-song debut EP "Remember Us?" on Broken Bow. Aldean has cut eight songs written by Morgan. He co-wrote each song and enlisted Aldean and Aldean's bandmates Kurt Allison and Tully Kennedy to help produce the project's title track "Remember Us," along with "Ain't Been There Yet" and the previously released party-start "Friends Like That."

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Carolyn's Boy Darius Rucker has referenced his South Carolina roots numerous times in his career, but his first solo release in six years is a more direct tribute to his late mother, Carolyn, and not just in the title. Raised on church music, soul singers and country songs at home growing up, Rucker includes more than a hint of each here. "Old Church Hymn," featuring Chapel Hart, evokes those childhood Sunday mornings in the pews, in a deep gospel tone that blossoms into an organ-driven, rousing singalong. ...
CD review - Memory Lane There are two ways to listen to Old Dominion's music. You can simply enjoy it for the feel, the lyrics, the beat...or you can study it as a master class in contemporary country songwriting and record production. Either way you're in for a treat, especially on this eight-song EP "Memory Lane." Hooks, harmonies, rhythms and feel-good images are everywhere here. Old Dominion (name chosen because four band members are from Virginia) originally formed to highlight songs that the ...
CD review - My Chains Are Gone It's so good to hear Reba McEntire's gospel album so soon after Carrie Underwood released the similar "My Savior." While Underwood's release may have been her country-ist album – ever, perhaps – McEntire has strayed far less often from her traditional music roots. With "My Chains Are Gone," McEntire gives us a selection of songs she – like Underwood – grew up singing. Therefore, she knows them all like the back of her hand, the way ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube