Town Mountain plans to "Dance Me Down Easy"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Town Mountain plans to "Dance Me Down Easy"

Monday, November 20, 2023 – Town Mountain will release "Dance Me Down Easy: The Woodstock Sessions EP" on Jan. 18, 2024 via New West Records.

The six-song EP consists of the band's renditions of favorites originally recorded by The Kinks, J.J. Cale, Dire Straits, Levon Helm, and The Rolling Stones. "Dance Me Down Easy" follows the band's 2022 New West Records debut "Lines In the Levee. "

The six-song set was produced by Town Mountain and Justin Francis and recorded at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock, N.Y.

Front man Robert Greer said, "Recording at Levon Helm's Barn in upstate New York has an instant cool vibe. You don't have to search for it or pay a speaker to motivate you. The vibe is permanent ink. It's all over the walls and in the floors. The grounds outside exude it. The soulfulness is as much a part of the barn as is the foundation or the rough hewn lumber."

Band mate Phil Barker added, "I would say Levon Helm is one of, if not, the biggest influences on this band as a whole. He was a little bit country, a little bit rock and roll, but definitely down home. And I think that was his art - drawing people in with an easy going drawl and the promise of a good time."

"So having never had the pleasure of seeing him play in person, the barn has been on our list of places to play or record for a while now. And it definitely did not disappoint. It seemed like every rafter, every nook, around every corner, there was this mischievous little secret about some profound musical moment that happened there once upon a time. You think of all the shared experiences, all the conversations, all the revelry of the highest caliber that took place within those walls and you can't help but feel the bubbling energy of endless musical possibilities. Levon had it figured out, and his barn continues to be such a fitting tribute. Bringing everybody down home for a little while." MOOf The Kinks' "Strangers," Barker said, "This is a song I've loved for years and could listen to on repeat endlessly. To me it has this great building energy and perfectly captures the raw emotion of longing for connection, the most basic of human emotion. We all just want to know we're not alone. As a band, we tried to give it a little more of a country, rocking flair."

The track listing is:
1. Devil In Disguise (J.J. Cale)
2. Dance Me Down Easy (Levon Helm)
3. Flannery's Reprise (Traditional)
4. So Far Away (Dire Straits)
5. Strangers (The Kinks)
6. Sweet Virginia (Rolling Stones)

More news for Town Mountain

CD reviews for Town Mountain

CD review - New Freedom Blues Town Mountain is a bluegrass band at its core. But here, whilst true to the bluegrass form (drinking - "One Drop In The Bottle; wide open spaces - "North of Cheyenne"; more open spaces- "Lazy River," "Pamlico"), there's an edge to it all. "Life and Debt" is, not surprisingly, a pushback on the New American Normal, as is the title cut. Town Mountain's sixth studio album shows the group's writing strength and confidence in playing. ...
CD review - Southern Crescent Town Mountain offers a bluegrass album you can sink your teeth into. Leave aside the time-worn battle between bluegrass and newgrass. Town Mountain presents a straightforward case for respect in bluegrass, the odd piano and percussive effect notwithstanding. The CD starts out with a modest-appearing, "St. Augustine" (clocking in at one minute) that is anything but slight. A clever fiddle hesitation bowing is followed by a hard-fought instrumental track that announces that the Town ...
CD review - Leave the Bottle Bluegrass ranges from the smooth baritone of David Parmley and Charlie Waller to the high tenor of Larry Stephenson to the mountain music of Dr. Ralph Stanley. If you're familiar with Junior Sisk, who is closer to Stanley than Parmley, then you know what to expect from Town Mountain. This is the bluegrass music you'll hear around the campfire at many festivals: excellent instrumental work, untrained yet good, on-key singing. All but one of the songs was written or co-written by band members. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube