Campbell duets disc coming
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Campbell duets disc coming

Friday, January 26, 2024 – A posthumous Glen Campbell album of duets with singers ranging from Dolly Parton to Elton John will be out April 19.

Big Machine Records and Surfdog Records will release "GLEN CAMPBELL DUETS - Ghost on the Canvas Sessions, which reimagines Campbell's 2011 farewell album.

Two tracks - "Hold On Hope (with Eric Church)" and "Nothing But The Whole Wide World (with Eric Clapton)" – were released today. Dave Kaplan and Julian Raymond produced the disc.

"Ghost on the Canvas" was recorded while Campbell was dealing with Alzheimer's. He toured behind the album and eventually passed away in 2017.

"I've always admired Glen Campbell's guitar playing and loved his singing. I was moved recently when one of his final performances, during his illness, came on TV," said Clapton. "When I was asked to sing and play with Glen on the song Jakob Dylan wrote, it all just felt right, and I am happy to be part of it."

"It was really special to me to be able to be part of this project. Glen was so important to not just country music, but all of music. What a stallion!" said Church.

Among the artists participating were . Dave Stewart (Eurythmics), Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins), Chris Issak, Wendy Melvoin (Prince and the Revolution), Rick Neilsen (Cheap Trick), Steve Hunter (Lou Reed), The Dandy Warhols, Jason Faulkner Jr., Kim Bullard, Josh Freese (The Foo Fighters) and Dick Dale.

The track list is:
1. "There's No Me... Without You (with Carole King)"
2. "Ghost On The Canvas (with Sting)"
3. "Hold On Hope (with Eric Church)"
4. "The Long Walk Home (with Hope Sandoval)"
5. "Nothing But The Whole Wide World (with Eric Clapton)"
6. "In My Arms (with Brian Setzer)"
7. "A Better Place (with Dolly Parton)"
8. "Strong (with Brian Wilson)"
9. "A Thousand Lifetimes (with Linda Perry)"
10. "It's Your Amazing Grace (with Daryl Hall and Dave Stewart)"
11. "Any Trouble (with X)"
12. "I'm Not Gonna Miss You (with Elton John)"

More news for Glen Campbell

CD reviews for Glen Campbell

CD review - Live from the Troubadour The setlist from Glen Campbell's Aug. 19, 2008 show at L.A.'s Troubadour consists largely of unfamiliar material as the focus was primarily on tunes from the current release at the time "Meet Glen Campbell" on which Campbell covered artists as diverse as Tom Petty, Lou Reed and John Lennon. A trio of Jim Webb tunes are amongst the nicely represented hits. Campbell introduces "By the Time I Get to Phoenix" by proclaiming "this is one of my ...
CD review - Sings for the King At first glance it may seem an unlikely connection, that which tied Glen Campbell, the so-called Rhinestone Cowboy, with the undisputed King of Rock & Roll, Elvis Presley. Nevertheless, it was a relationship that spawned several years, mostly during Elvis' lean period in the mid '60s and Campbell's tenure as part of that famed studio ensemble, the Wrecking Crew. As the decade wore on, both men accelerated in prominence, Elvis via his 1968 televised comeback special and Campbell ...
CD review - British Live Performance Glen Campbell was in fine voice for this 1990 Doncaster, England concert that features strong performances of many of his classic hits and some rare gems, but at times the collection feels a bit dated by the presence of unmemorable tracks from his current album at the time. Campbell's association with songwriter Jim Webb is celebrated nicely not only with megahits "Galveston," "By The Time I Get To Phoenix" and "Wichita Lineman," but one of the highlights is a ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube