Anthony drops debut Sunday
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Anthony drops debut Sunday

Friday, March 29, 2024 – Oliver Anthony had a surprise announcement today - his first studio album, "Hymnal of a Troubled Man's Mind," will be independently released on Sunday.

The native Virginian, who first emerged last fall with "Rich Men North of Richmond," returns now with self-penned stories from an often unseen side of the American experience.

Produced by Grammy winner Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Jason Isbell, Brandi Carlile) the 10-song collection is intertwined with spoken-word Gospel and the previously unreleased, "Momma's Been Hurting."

"'Hymnal of a Troubled Man's Mind' is the story of my life, from 2013 until 2023," said Chris Lunsford, who performs as Oliver Anthony. "It is intended for the listener to sit down in a quiet place, undistracted and just listen beginning to end. Every lyric, every note - every everything - is intentionally placed. This album represents the most pure and transparent view inside my heart and soul that I could offer. While Richmond was the song that got my name out in the public, this release represents the true foundation of the music that got me through life up until now."

With acoustic guitar, upright bass, fiddle and vocal, the songs speak to personal and universal struggles faced by the modern day working-class.

"In sort of a beautiful and crazy way, nearly all the songs that my fans listen to outside of the RadioWv session from August of 2023, are those Android recordings I recorded almost immediately after writing each song in 2022-2023. Think of them like a rough draft: in many cases, I had written the song not even 30 minutes before recording. My motivation for uploading was mainly to create a tangible medium, so the songs were safe for me to play at open mics without worrying about them being stolen. I feel that it was my responsibility to give a handful of my early written songs the completion they deserve. Now, I can begin releasing my most recent work, without feeling like I skipped an important step. Fans can expect to start seeing new releases soon, following this project."

Following the overnight success of "Rich Men North of Richmond," Anthony and Cobb recorded 10 songs in an empty, decaying church in Savannah, G.

Anthony declined numerous record label offers, a deliberate choice that underscores his commitment to artistic integrity and autonomy.

The track list is:
1. Rich Man's Gold
2. Doggonit
3. I've Got to Get Sober
4. Cobwebs and Cocaine
5. Hell on Earth
6. I Want to Go Home
7. Feeling Purdy Good
8. Always Love You Like a Good Old Dog
9. VCR Kid
10. Momma's Been Hurting

On Sunday, Anthony will celebrate Easter and the release with a concert at Hopewell, Va.,'s Beacon Theatre, about 70 miles from his hometown of Farmville. All ticket sales from the show will go to the local Beacon Hill Church's food outreach program. Since 2020, the program has served free meals to the community every Friday and typically feeds around 400 people in need. Recently, the church extended the program to 30 elementary school-aged children who are provided with weekend meals.

Though the show instantly sold out, fans unable to attend can livestream the show across Oliver Anthony's official platforms: YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and X. The livestream is free with donations to Beacon Hill Church's food outreach program encouraged.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube