Stapleton takes on Petty's "I Should Have Known It"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Stapleton takes on Petty's "I Should Have Known It"

Friday, April 26, 2024 – Chris Stapleton's take on Tom Petty's "I Should Have Known It," from the forthcoming Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty, debuts today with an accompanying audio video that features vintage photos of Petty.

The track originally appeared on Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers' 2010 album, "Mojo" and again on the late rocker's 2019 posthumous greatest hits album, "The Best of Everything." Beloved by fans, "I Should Have Known It" became one of the most enduring live songs amongst Petty's more recent material.

The tribute disc is set for release on June 21 via Big Machine Records in partnership with the Tom Petty Estate.

Dolly Parton's take on "Southern Accents" and Dierks Bentley's on "American Girl" were previously released.

Petty's had friendships with Carl Perkins (Petty inducted Perkins into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame), Johnny Cash (The Heartbreakers were the backing band on Cash's "Unchained}), June Carter Cash, Marty Stuart, John Prine, Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette, George Strait, Hank Williams Jr. and Willie Nelson.

The track list is:

  • "I Should Have Known It" by Chris Stapleton
  • "Wildflowers" by Thomas Rhett
  • "Runnin' Down A Dream" by Luke Combs
  • "Southern Accents" by Dolly Parton
  • "Here Comes My Girl" by Justin Moore
  • "American Girl" by Dierks Bentley
  • "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" by Lady A
  • "I Forgive It All" by Jamey Johnson
  • "I Won't Back Down" by Brothers Osborne
  • "Refugee" by Wynonna Judd feat. Lainey Wilson
  • "Angel Dream No. 2" by Willie Nelson & Lukas Nelson
  • "Learning To Fly" by Eli Young Band
  • "Breakdown" by Ryan Hurd feat. Carly Pearce
  • "Yer So Bad" by Steve Earle
  • "Ways To Be Wicked" by Margo Price feat. Mike Campbell
  • "Mary Jane's Last Dance" by Midland
  • "Free Fallin'" by The Cadillac Three feat. Breland
  • "I Need To Know" by Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives
  • "Don't Come Around Here No More" by Rhiannon Giddens feat. Silkroad Ensemble and Benmont Tench
  • "You Wreck Me (Live)" by George Strait

  • More news for Chris Stapleton

    CD reviews for Chris Stapleton

    CD review - Higher There was a bit of a controversy at the recent CMAs when Chris Stapleton beat out Morgan Wallen for best male vocalist, especially after Wallen had such a huge year, commercially speaking. Yes, one can make the case that Wallen is the most popular male singer in country music these days. However, when it comes to pure singing, Stapleton is arguably the genre's most naturally talented singer. He doesn't really need any more proof of that, of course, but his "Higher" album ...
    CD review - Startin' Over Chris Stapleton's "Starting Over" release is one of those rare beauties of an album, where your favorite track may change from day to day. All of 'em are just that great. It is, simply put, Stapleton's best full-length to date. You may love the title track, which puts flesh and bone onto the 'better luck next time' wish. Then again, the spiritual truth contained within the Creedence Clearwater Revival-esque "Devil Always Made Me Think Twice" might also ...
    CD review - From A Room: Volume 2 There is no bigger artist in country music today, perhaps even in American music, than Chris Stapleton. His appeal reaches beyond just the commercial country fans for his gritty bluesy approach. 2015's "Traveller" set a high bar, which was met by this year's release of "From A Room: Volume 1," which won Album of the Year in the 51st CMA Awards. Stapleton also garnered the Male Vocalist of the Year for his second time. Now seven months after that release, "From ...

    ©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
    AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
    Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube