Dailey & Vincent clean up at IBMAs, win 6 awards
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Dailey & Vincent clean up at IBMAs, win 6 awards

Thursday, October 2, 2008 – Dailey & Vincent received the most International Bluegrass Music Association awards nominations with 10, and the duo came through with the most awards Thursday with 6, including the coveted entertainer of the year.

Jamie Dailey and Darren Vincent released their debut CD in January and have been riding much acclaim ever since. The duo also won vocal group of the year; male vocalist of the year (Dailey); album of the year for their self-titled debut, which they also produced for Rounder; gospel recorded performance for By The Mark; and emerging artist. Vincent won an award on his own for recorded event of the year. Dailey was the former lead singer and guitarist for Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver. Vincent played guitar and mandolin with Ricky Skaggs' Kentucky Thunder before the two joined forces about a year ago. Their sound is typified by tight vocal harmonies.

"We're overwhelmed and honored," said Vincent after winning the vocal group award.

Other awards were given to Bill Clifton and the late journalist Charles K. Wolfe as Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductees.

Instrumental group of the year was handed to Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Female vocalist: Dale Ann Bradley

Song of the year: Through The Window Of A Train, Blue Highway (artists), Tim Stafford & Steve Gulley (songwriters)

Recorded event of the year: Everett Lilly & Everybody and Their Brother, Featuring Everett Lilly, Bea Lilly, Charles Lilly, Daniel Lilly, Mark Lilly, Marty Stuart, Rhonda Vincent, Billy Walker, Ronnie McCoury, Rob McCoury, David Ball, Charlie Cushman, Larry Stephenson, Joe Spivey, Eddie Stubbs, Jason Carter, Dickey Lee, Freddy Weller, Mike Bub, Rad Lewis, Andy May, Darrin Vincent, Marcia Campbell, Clay Rigdon, Eric Blankenship & Bill Wolfenbarger (artists), Charles Lilly and Bill Wolfenbarger (producers), Swift River Music

Instrumental album: "Sound of the Slide Guitar," Andy Hall (artist & producer), Sugar Hill Records

Instrumental performers: banjo - Kristin Scott Benson
Bass - Barry Bales (Union Station member)
Fiddle - Michael Cleveland
Dobro - Rob Ickes
Guitar - Josh Williams
Mandolin - Adam Steffey (Dan Tyminski Band member)

Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients - Bill Harrell, a musician; The Banjo Newsletter; journalist Art Menius; The Ernest Tubb Record Shop in Nashville and musicians Joe Carr & Alan Munde

Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year: Kyle Cantrell, XM Satellite Radio

Print Media Person of the Year: Chris Stuart

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project: Gary Reid, The Stanley Brothers: The Definitive Collection (1947-1966), The Stanley Brothers, Time Life

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project: G. Carr & S. Holman, What The, Pete Wernick & Flexigrass, Niwot Records

Bluegrass Event of the Year Award: 29th Annual Thomas Point Beach Bluegrass Festival; Thomas Point Beach, Maine; Aug. 30-Sept. 2, 2007.

Hosted by the legendary Del McCoury, the 19th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards also featured some superb performances, including:
Steep Canyon Rangers ( Lovin' Pretty Women
Blue Highway Window of a Train
The Grascals Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line
The Steeldrivers Drinkin' Dark Whiskey
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver "Echo from the Ryman Walls
Del McCoury Band Moneyland
Dailey and Vincent By the Mark
The Infamous Stringdusters The Things I Never Knew
Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder (a medley of Monroe songs)

Other highlights included new bluegrass darlings Dailey and Vincent's rendition of By the Mark , which won the only standing ovation of the night. Country star Vince Gill was on hand to present them with their first Entertainer of the Year trophy. Banjoist of the Year Benson shocked the crowd with a surprise win this year over such favorites as J.D. Crowe and Earl Scruggs. Instrumental Group of the Year nominees Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder made a special appearance to close the show with a medley of Bill Monroe songs.

The awards show was held in Nashville as part of IBMA week festivities.

More news for Dailey & Vincent

CD reviews for Dailey & Vincent

CD review - The Sounds Of Christmas With "The Sounds of Christmas," Dailey & Vincent gift us with an honest-to-goodness country Christmas album. It's tough to find honest-to-goodness country music - let alone Christmas country - but this duo's bluegrass and gospel grounding give their album deep roots. Dolly Parton's big presence on "Road to Bethlehem" adds a sweet touch, even though the new song shares a melody with Bruce Springsteen's "One Step Up." It's one of a few new ...
CD review - Patriots & Poets From time to time an album comes along with exactly the right message and meaning at exactly the right time - "Patriots & Poets" is one of those albums. Dailey and Vincent initially set out to create a project full of songs they had written independently, together and with close friends. While succeeding mightily in that regard, they also created a beautiful love letter to America and her people in a time when many need to be reminded, that while perhaps flawed, we are all still one. ...
CD review - Brothers of the Highway Some six years and counting after their spectacular debut on the bluegrass scene, with a couple of handfuls of IBMA awards garnered along the way, Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent continue to avoid the trap of sputtering out after using up their best material on the first couple of albums. The primary reason is, although they are adept at writing some of their own material (and two of the tracks on this new release, Steel Drivin' Man and Back To Jackson County are nice efforts by Dailey), ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook