Chris Gaffney tribute gets delayed
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Chris Gaffney tribute gets delayed

Sunday, February 8, 2009 – The release date for "Man of Somebody's Dreams: A Tribute to Chris Gaffney" was moved from late March to May 26. Gaffney, who released albums on his own and played with Dave Alvin, died last year of lung cancer. No reason was cited for the delay of the 17-song disc by Yep Roc Records.

Songs on the tribute are:
1 Joe Ely Lift Your Leg
2 Boz Scaggs Midnight Dream
3 Los Lobos Man of Somebody's Dreams
4 Dave Alvin Artesia
5 Peter Case Six Nights a Week
6 Tom Russell If Daddy Don't Sing Daddy Boy
7 Calexico Frank's Tavern
8 James McMurtry Flight (Tonight's the Night)
9 The Texas Tornados The Gardens
10 Jim Lauderdale with Ollabelle Glasshouse
11 The Iguanas Get Off My Back Lucky
12 Alejandro Escovedo 1968
13 Robbie Fulks King of the Blues
14 John Doe Quiet Desperation
15 Dave Gonzales Tired of Being Me.
16 Big Sandy y Los Straitjackets Silent Partner
17 Dan Penn I'm So Proud
Chris Gaffney Guitars of My Dead Friends

More news for Chris Gaffney and the Cold Hard Facts

CD reviews for Chris Gaffney and the Cold Hard Facts

An audacious two-disc initial release from a new label, disc one of this set captures Chris Gaffney and band plying their trade and includes Gaffney gems spanning his three previous releases (highlighted by the utterly classic "King of the Blues") a lone unreleased number ("Fade to Grey") and a passel of covers meant to demonstrate the bar-band prowess of the Cold Hard Facts. To this end, there's versions of Cal Smith's first number one, "The Lord Knows I'm Drinkin'," Dean Martin's "Buona Sera" ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube