Black Music Matters Festival

Flatlanders plan European dates

Thursday, May 7, 2009 – The Flatlanders - Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Joe Ely and Butch Hancock - three of Texas' most respected singer/songwriters, continue their tour in support of their new album "Hills And Valleys" (New West Records) with gigs in Europe after the U.S. part ends in July.

The band will pick up again May 16 in Boulder, Col. and wrap up this leg the beginning of June with a run in their home state of Texas. This summer, the band will stop in New York City for The Late Show with David Letterman.

Tour dates are:
May 16 Sat Boulder, CO Boulder Theater
May 17 Sun Salt Lake City, UT State Room
May 19 Tue Seattle, WA The Triple Door
May 20 Wed Portland, OR The Aladdin Theater
May 22 Fri Eugene, OR Shedd Institute for the Arts
May 23 Sat San Francisco, CA Slim's
May 24 Sun Yosemite, CA Strawberry Music Festival
May 25 Mon Nicasio, CA Racho Nicasio
May 27 Wed Chico, CA Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
May 28 Thu Santa Cruz, CA Rio Theater
May 29 Fri San Diego, CA Anthology
May 30 Sat West Hollywood, CA Troubadour
June 1 Mon Santa Fe, NM Lensic PAC
June 2 Tue Terlingua, TX Starlight Theater
June 3 Wed Lubbock, TX Cactus Courtyard
June 4 Thu Austin, TX Texas Union Ballroom
June 5 Fri Dallas, TX House of Blues
June 6 Sat Conroe, TX Crighton Theater
July 23 Thurs Switzerland Laufen Alts Schlachthuus
July 24 Fri France Craponne Country Rendez-Vous Festival
July 26 Sun United Kingdom Gateshead SummerTyne Americana Festival
July 28 Tues London, UK Barbican
July 29 Wed Dublin, Ireland Vicar Street

More news for The Flatlanders

CD reviews for The Flatlanders

The Odessa Tapes CD review - The Odessa Tapes
The Flatlanders' debut album, when it was eventually released years after it was recorded, was appropriately entitled, "More a Legend Than a Band." The group, which came together in 1972 and featured a very young Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Joe Ely and Butch Hancock, never really had a chance to make their mark the first time around. After all three singer/songwriters became stars of the Texas music scene, the band was rediscovered, leading to an eventual reunion and more excellent albums. »»»
Hills And Valleys CD review - Hills And Valleys
When The Flatlanders sing, "We're all just migrants on this Earth" during Homeland Refugee, it's a great equalizing statement. Yes, Joe Ely, Butch Hancock and Jimmie Dale Gilmore, three iconic singer/songwriters that moonlight as The Flatlanders, once again honestly reflect the collective mood of the nation. Homeland Refugee and After the Storm allude to the way such factors as weather events and economic upheaval severely alter the way we live. There are also straight out »»»
Live '72
The magic of The Flatlanders surfaced early - at least that's what listeners will hear on this 16-song long hidden gig from June 1972 at the One Knite in Austin where Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Joe Ely and Butch Hancock were based. Austin producer Jim Yanaway told Joe Ely about the tape in spring 2003, a rarity such an old recording existed considering the band initially lasted less than one year and only played about 15 gigs. And they have club owner Gary Oliver to thank for the tape. »»»