Drive-By Truckers plan two summer releases
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Drive-By Truckers plan two summer releases

Tuesday, June 9, 2009 – The Drive-By Truckers will release a live CD/DVD in July and an album of "oddities and rarities" in September.

"Live From Austin, TX" will be out on CD and DVD July 7. "The Fine Print (A Collection Of Oddities and Rarities 2003-2008)," will be out Sept. 1 on CD, Double Vinyl and as a digital download. These are slated to be the final releases for the band on the New West Records label because DBT is leaving the label. No announcement has been made about a new home for the band.

DBT recently dug into the New West vaults, with help from longtime producer Dave Barbe, and put finishing touches on a selection of songs that were never quite completed. "For me, it's been a fun stroll through memory lane and a chance to tie up some loose ends" said lead singer Patterson Hood. "The Fine Print..." will be a 12-track album of previously unreleased and rare songs, written by band members past and present, including Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley and Jason Isbell.

A total of 7 of the 12 songs come from "The Dirty South" CD era. "That was an especially fertile period for the band, as we more or less wrote that album and the one before it, 'Decoration Day,' as well as my first solo album all in a three-year period as we were recording and touring behind 'Southern Rock Opera'," said Hood. The record also contains four covers including Rebels by Tom Petty, which the band recorded originally for the TV show King Of The Hill and Like A Rolling Stone by Bob Dylan, which provided Shonna Tucker with her first ever lead vocal performance on a DBT recording.

The Austin City Limits show is from Sept. 26, 2008 while touring for their last studio album "Brighter Than Creation's Dark." The band line-up featured Hood, Cooley, Tucker, John Neff, Brad Morgan and Jay Gonzalez.

"The Fine Print" track list is:
1. George Jones Talkin' Cell Phone Blues
2. Rebels
3. Uncle Frank (alternate version)
4. TVA
5. Goode's Field Road (alternate version)
6. The Great Car Dealer War
7. Mama Bake A Pie (Daddy Kill A Chicken)
8. When The Well Runs Dry
9. Mrs. Claus' Kimono
10. Play It All Night Long
11. Little Pony And The Great Big Horse
12. Like A Rolling Stone

The Austin CD track list is:
1. Perfect Timing
2. Heathens
3. A Ghost To Most
4. The Righteous Path
5. I'm Sorry Huston
6. 3 Dimes Down
7. Puttin' People On The Moon
8. Space City
9. The Living Bubba
10. Zip City
11. 18 Wheels Of Love
12. Let There Be Rock
13. Marry Me

More news for Drive-By Truckers

CD reviews for Drive-By Truckers

CD review - It's Great to Be Alive It's been roughly two decades when musicians Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley decided to tie their wagon together and form Drive-By Truckers. And through the countless tours, hundreds (oops, thousands) of shows, the band decided now was the right time for a live album. Three nights at San Francisco's Fillmore is the backdrop for this massively generous 35-song compendium. Yet while there are a few expected lulls in the marathon of music offered, Hood and Cooley's dual engine of ...
CD review - English Oceans It would be easy perhaps even tempting - to label Alabama's Drive By Truckers as simply a rowdy and rambunctious country rock outfit that goes all out to make their insurgent sound heard. Not surprisingly, it was their landmark opus, "Southern Rock Opera," an album detailing the exploits of a fictional '70s Dixie-bred outfit called "Betamax Guillotine," that helped solidify both their sound and reputation. They've more or less continued to reinforce that stoic ...
CD review - Ugly Buildings, Whores, and Politicians Greatest hits albums are a tricky business. If the band is thoughtful enough to have created cohesive, thematic records, a greatest hits collection only disrupts this order. As such, the release of a compilation is usually not motivated by the band's artistic desires, but instead the record company's monetary ones. "Ugly Buildings" does not feature any new or unreleased material, which makes it irrelevant to any fans who already own the band's complete discography. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook