Old 97's start touring tonight, offer EP
COUNTRY STANDARD TIME
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive
 

Old 97's start touring tonight, offer EP

Wednesday, June 30, 2010 – Old 97's kick off a summer tour tonight in Seattle, going into early August. The band, which is putting the finishing touches on a brand new studio album due out this fall on New West Records, will be hitting many major cities including Los Angeles for Hootenanny, New York at the South Street Seaport and Chicago.

While on the road, Old 97's will be selling, "Mimeograph," a newly recorded, four song EP that includes covers of Rocks Off (The Rolling Stones), For The Girl (The Fratellis), Driver 8 (REM) and Five Years (David Bowie.). This special release, only available to purchase physically at the show or through the bands website, will also be available digitally beginning July 6.

As a thank you to fans, Old 97's are offering three live songs free for download, from their shows last December in Dallas, to anyone that visits their website www.old97s.com to become a fan of the band on Facebook.

Tour dates are:
June 30 Wed Seattle, WA The Showbox
July 1 Thu Portland, OR Wonder Ballroom
July 3 Sat Silverado, CA Oak Canyon Ranch
July 4 Sun New York, NY South Street Seaport
July 10 Sat Dallas, TX Fair Park
July 15 Thu Milwaukee, WI Pabst Theater
July 16 Fri Chicago, IL Navy Pier
July 17 Sat Detroit, MI Majestic Theatre
July 18 Sun Milvale, PA Mr. Small's Theater
July 20 Tue Cleveland, OH Beachland Ballroom
July 21 Wed Bloomington, IN Bluebird Nightclub
July 22 Thu Des Moines, IA Simon Estes Amphitheater
July 23 Fri Fargo, ND The Venue
July 24 Sat Omaha, NE Maha Music Festival @ Lewis and Clark Landing
July 26 Mon Englewood, CO Gothic Theatre
July 28 Wed Columbia, MO The Blue
July 29 Thu Kansas City, MO Crossroads
July 30 Fri George's Majestic Fayetteville, AR
July 31 Sat Bossier City, LA Harras's Horseshoe Casino $
Aug. 5 Thu San Francisco, CA Justin Herman Plaza


More news for Old 97's


CD reviews for Old 97's

CD review - Twelfth To illustrate its 12th album - appropriately titled "Twelfth"- Old 97's put a picture of Dallas Cowboys star quarterback Roger Staubach on the cover, where he can be seen throwing a pass wearing his number 12 jersey. Since the band is originally from Dallas, it all fits together quite nicely. The album includes all the elements we love about Old 97's: a whole lot of honesty and self-deprecating humor. While country music is a part of what the band does, it would be a stretch to ...
CD review - Love the Holidays "Love the Holidays" may read like one of those old timey Christmas album titles. You know, those sanitized, safe for the whole family song sets. Granted, there's nothing particularly family unfriendly on this seasonal collection; however, it's still a fairly typical Old 97's album. Vocalist Rhett Miller is just too angsty to ever make completely overjoyed, celebratory music. This album is typical Old 97's music, in the best sense of the term. "Christmas Is ...
CD review - Graveyard Whistle Old 97s' "Graveyard Whistling" is a slight return to form after 2014's "Most Messed Up," which was heavy on profanity, but far too light on charming country songs. "Graveyard Whistling" is a little more innocent and a lot more fun than its predecessor. "Bad Luck Charm," for instance, finds lead vocalist Rhett Miller playing a familiar role - that of lovable loser. "I'm just another black cat crossing your street," Miller warns, in ...


©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook