Gretchen Wilson: new CD coming May 15
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Gretchen Wilson: new CD coming May 15

Monday, March 12, 2007 – Gretchen Wilson will release her third album, "One of the Boys," May 15. Wilson produced the disc with Mark Wright and John Rich, both of whom produced Wilson's first two discs. She also had a hand in writing 9 of the 11 songs. Rich helped write 4 songs.

"I am very proud of this album and can't wait for people to start hearing it," said Wilson. "I took more time to write and record this album than I was able to on the first two, and I feel like this really reflects where I am in my life right now. There are songs that show a softer side - more vulnerable - but there are definitely still some butt-kickers."

Songwriter Rivers Rutherford - who wrote "When I Get Where I'm Going" for Brad Paisley, "Living in Fast Forward" for Kenny Chesney and Wilson's "Homewrecker" - also co-wrote three songs and associate-produced "If You Want A Mother" on "One of the Boys."

Wilson skyrocketed to fame with her debut, "Here for the Party," while the follow-up, "All Jacked Up," had hits as well, but did sell as many discs compared to the debut.

The track listing for the new album is:
1. The Girl I Am - Wilson/Dean Hall
2. Come To Bed (Featuring John Rich) - Vicky McGehee/John Rich
3. One Of The Boys - Wilson/Rivers Rutherford/George Teren
4. You Don't Have To Go Home - Wilson/McGehee/Rich
5. Heaven Help Me - Wilson/Rutherford/ Teren
6. There's A Place In The Whiskey - Del Gray/Shannon Lawson/Bobby L. Taylor
7. If You Want A Mother - Wilson/Rutherford/George Teren
8. Pain Killer - Wilson/Hall
9. There Goes The Neighborhood - Wilson/McGehee/Rich
10. Good Old Boy - Wilson/McGehee/Rich
11. To Tell You The Truth - Wilson/Hall

More news for Gretchen Wilson

CD reviews for Gretchen Wilson

CD review - Christmas in My Heart Although Gretchen Wilson produced this new holiday album for Redneck Records, thank goodness our famous redneck woman didn't attempt a redneck Christmas album. The closest she gets to being redneck-y is by appearing as a shotgun-wielding gal tied up in Christmas lights inside the CD booklet. Oh, and If You See Rudolph is a bit of a hunting song, which true rednecks will appreciate. While Wilson produced the 10-track release, she did not write any of its songs. On the secular/sacred scale, ...
This has been a busy year for country's original "redneck girl": Gretchen Wilson released an album of original songs, "Right on Time," in April, led by the single Still Rollin', and her first Christmas album, "Christmas in My Heart," hit the shelves in October. In between, she climbed "Under the Covers" with Rod Stewart and the Faces, Jackson Browne, Led Zeppelin and Derek and the Dominoes, among others, for a night on the town singing classic rock songs. ...
CD review - Right On Time Gretchen Wilson is an example of how quickly commercial success can come and go in this whacky business. The Redneck Woman was all the rage in 2004 with "Here's to the Party." The flag bearer for the trailer park crowd personified the tough chick, but there was far more musical depth to her than the persona she embraced through four albums including her last one, 2010's "I Got Your Country Right Here." In this disposable world, even though her first 3 discs went ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube