Rodriguez, Taylor join forces
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Rodriguez, Taylor join forces

Tuesday, August 31, 2010 – Chip Taylor and Carrie Rodriguez will release a best of along with four new tracks in October.

"The New Bye & Bye - The Best of the Train Wreck Years 2002 - 2007," a collection of their 13 best collaborations, plus 4 new songs, drops Oct. 12 on Train Wreck Records. Written and recorded earlier this year, the four new songs feature guitarist John Platania (Van Morrison) and pedal steel player Greg Leisz (Joni Mitchell, Robert Plant and Alison Kraus).

The album features highlights from 2002's "Let's Leave This Town," 2003's "The Trouble With Humans," 2005's "Red Dog Tracks" and 2008's "Live From The Ruhr Triennale." The album closes with live cuts of two of Taylor's best-known songs, Angel of the Morning and Wild Thing, performed with an all-star band including Leisz and guitarists Bill Frisell and Buddy Miller.

Taylor first teamed up with Rodriguez in 2002 after the pair met at Austin's SXSW festival. Their initial collaborations inspired Taylor to get back on the road and into the recording studio and pushed Rodriguez to explore her own budding talents as a singer and songwriter. In 2006, they parted so that Rodriguez could start her solo career and Taylor could concentrate on his songwriting, recording, touring, as well as helping to build the Train Wreck Records label.

Songs on the disc are:

1. Your Name Is On My Lips*
2. On An Island*
3. Play It Again Sam*
4. The New Bye & Bye*
5. Sweet Tequila Blues
6. Him Who Saved Me
7. Don't Speak In English
8. All The Rain
9. Let's Leave This Town
10. Memphis, Texas
11. Keep Your Hat On Jenny
12. Must Be The Whiskey
13. Big Moon Shinin'
14. Laredo
15. We Come Up Shining
16. Angel of the Morning (Live)
17. Wild Thing (Live)
18. New Bye & Bye (Reprise)

*New track

More news for Chip Taylor & Carrie Rodriguez

CD reviews for Chip Taylor & Carrie Rodriguez

CD review - Red Dog Tracks reissue "Red Dog Tracks" was first released in 2005, the third well-received collaboration between veteran singer/songwriter Chip Taylor and then newcomer Carrie Rodriguez. After being out of print for some time, this 10th anniversary edition adds a trio of bonus tracks to the already impressive collection. Taylor wrote or co-wrote all but four of the 16 tunes. Rodriguez co-wrote one of the better tracks, the sentimental ballad "Once Again, One Day..Will You Be Mine" that prominently ...
CD review - The New Bye & Bye - The Best of the Train Wreck Years 2002 - 2007 Sometimes it seems as though Willie Nelson invented the unlikely duet. Chip Taylor and Carrie Rodriguez may have perfected the concept. Sure, a former professional gambler from New York and author of Wild Thing paired with a Texas-born and Berklee-trained fiddler and vocalist 38 years his junior - who didn't know that would work? An audition of their five previous albums together is nothing so much as a debunking of demographics. The pairing does work, and its disparate virtues are all ...
CD review - Live From the Ruhr Triennale/October 2005 Chip Taylor and Carrie Rodriguez have split as a formal duo, but continue to appear on each other's recordings and share equal billing here. But it is a duo in name only, for Taylor handles the lion's share of the singing and has always written nearly all the songs. The latter makes sense given his lengthy resume that includes this disc's final two numbers, "Angel of the Morning" and the cultural landmark "Wild Thing." Taylor sings somberly, almost in spoken word. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook