Drive-By Truckers put on "Go-Go Boots"
COUNTRY STANDARD TIME
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive
 

Drive-By Truckers put on "Go-Go Boots"

Monday, November 8, 2010 – Drive-By Truckers will release "Go-Go Boots," on Feb. 15, 2011 on ATO Records. "Go-Go Boots" is their eleventh record and was produced by their longtime producer, David Barbe (Deerhunter, Bettye LaVette, Sugar). The band also will release their documentary, "The Secret to a Happy Ending," on DVD and start month-long European tour this week.

The new CD builds on their roots with the old Muscle Shoals country-and-soul sound. "We recorded nearly 40 songs last year and into this year and fairly early on divided it into two separate albums" said DBT co-founder Patterson Hood. "The Big To-Do, released first, was the more straight forward "rock" album. 'Go-Go Boots' is what I sometimes (semi-jokingly) refer to as our country, soul and murder ballad album. Those elements definitely play into it, but it's a little more open ended than that."

The track listing is:
1. I Do Believe
2. Go-Go Boots
3. Dancin' Ricky
4. Cartoon Gold
5. Ray's Automatic Weapon
6. Everybody Needs Love
7. Assholes
8. The Weakest Man
9. Used To Be A Cop
10. The Fireplace Poker
11. Where's Eddie
12. The Thanksgiving Filter
13. Pulaski
14. Mercy Buckets

The Drive-By Truckers are Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley, Shonna Tucker, Brad Morgan, John Neff and Jay Gonzalez.

The band will show their appreciation for vinyl and independent record stores by releasing a special 10-inch 45 with Thanksgiving Filter and Used To Be A Cop on Record Store Day, Nov. 26. Both songs will be on "Go-Go Boots," and the release will be a limited pressing of 2,500 copies and will feature a special sleeve designed by Wes Freed plus a download card.

The band will kick off a tour in Europe this week and will end the year playing New Year's Eve in New York City at Terminal 5. The Go-Go Boots tour will be announced soon.

Tour dates are:
Wednesday Nov. 10 Glasgow Scotland ABC
Friday Nov. 12 Manchester UK Academy 2
Saturday Nov. 13 Birmingham UK Academy 2
Sunday Nov. 14 London UK Shepherds Bush Empire
Monday Nov. 15 Brighton UK Concord 2
Wednesday Nov. 17 Amsterdam Holland Paradiso
Thursday Nov. 18 Groningen Holland Vera
Friday Nov. 19 Berlin Germany Lido
Saturday Nov. 20 Munich Germany Club 59:1
Sunday Nov. 21 Milan Italy Salumeria Della Musica
Tuesday Nov. 23 Barcelona Spain Razzmatazz 2
Wednesday Nov. 24 Madrid Spain Sala Heineken
Thursday Nov. 25 Bilbao Spain Kafe Antzoki
Friday Nov. 26 Toulouse France La Dynamo
Saturday Nov. 27 Rennes France Ubu
Sunday Nov. 28 Antwerp Belgium Trix Club
Tuesday Nov. 30 Odense Denmark Posten
Wednesday Dec. 1 Gothenburg Sweden Brewhouse
Thursday Dec. 2 Malmo Sweden KB
Friday Dec. 3 Stockholm Sweden Debaser
Saturday Dec. 4 Oslo Norway Rockefeller
Friday Dec. 10-11 Asheville NC Warren Haynes Xmas Jam - Orange Peel
Friday Dec. 31 New York NY Terminal 5
Saturday Jan. 1 Philadelphia PA TLA
Friday Jan. 13-15 Athens GA 40 Watt
Thursday Jan. 20 Miami FL Culture Room
Friday Jan. 21 Tampa FL The Ritz Ybor
Saturday Jan. 22 Orlando FL House of Blues
Sunday Jan. 23 Jacksonville FL Freebird Live
Friday Jan. 28 Oxford MS The Lyric
Saturday Jan. 29 Nashville, Cannery Ballroom


More news for Drive-By Truckers


CD reviews for Drive-By Truckers

CD review - It's Great to Be Alive It's been roughly two decades when musicians Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley decided to tie their wagon together and form Drive-By Truckers. And through the countless tours, hundreds (oops, thousands) of shows, the band decided now was the right time for a live album. Three nights at San Francisco's Fillmore is the backdrop for this massively generous 35-song compendium. Yet while there are a few expected lulls in the marathon of music offered, Hood and Cooley's dual engine of ...
CD review - English Oceans It would be easy perhaps even tempting - to label Alabama's Drive By Truckers as simply a rowdy and rambunctious country rock outfit that goes all out to make their insurgent sound heard. Not surprisingly, it was their landmark opus, "Southern Rock Opera," an album detailing the exploits of a fictional '70s Dixie-bred outfit called "Betamax Guillotine," that helped solidify both their sound and reputation. They've more or less continued to reinforce that stoic ...
CD review - Ugly Buildings, Whores, and Politicians Greatest hits albums are a tricky business. If the band is thoughtful enough to have created cohesive, thematic records, a greatest hits collection only disrupts this order. As such, the release of a compilation is usually not motivated by the band's artistic desires, but instead the record company's monetary ones. "Ugly Buildings" does not feature any new or unreleased material, which makes it irrelevant to any fans who already own the band's complete discography. ...


©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook