Charlie Sizemore keeps looking on new CD
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Charlie Sizemore keeps looking on new CD

Friday, December 10, 2010 – Charlie Sizemore's "Heartache Looking for a Home" will be out Feb. 15. The disc from the bluegrasser is the follow-up to his 2007 Rounder debut, "Good News."

Sizemore, a native of eastern Kentucky, Sizemore was hired at 17 to take over for the departing Keith Whitley in Ralph Stanley's Clinch Mountain Boys, with whom he stayed for nine years before leaving to start his own band and to attend college Sizemore, who also is a lawyer, has had songs recorded by Ralph Stanley, Jimmy Martin, Doyle Lawson and Dry Branch Fire Squad. He wrote none of the 14 songs on "Heartache..."

Sizemore is joined on this album by his band - banjo player Josh McMurray, resonator guitarist Matt DeSpain, mandolinist Danny Barnes and bassist John Pennell. "It could be my years with Ralph, but I've never thought of us as anything but a traditional bluegrass band."

"I don't want to make the record I made previously. I just try to keep it interesting for me," said Sizemore.

Songs on the CD are:

1. Down in the Quarter 2:14
2. Red Wicked Wine 2:38
3. No Lawyers in Heaven 3:01
4. Heartache Looking for a Home 1:58
5. Feelin' Like El Paso 2:58
6. Slow Goin' 2:36
7. Walking The Floor Over Me 2:22
8. I Don't Remember Loving You 3:39
9. Poor Rambler 3:01
10. Ashley Judd 2:06
11. Fords of Pittman 2:48
12. Pay No Attention to Alice 3:16
13. Going to Georgia 2:03
14. Crossing Over Into the Valley 2:47

More news for Charlie Sizemore

CD reviews for Charlie Sizemore

CD review - Heartache Looking for a Home From start to finish, Charlie Sizemore's "Heartache Looking for a Home" is a potent bluegrass album. With a voice that would be equally effective in country music, Sizemore is very much the Vern Gosdin of the bluegrass world: a favorite of fellow singers and instrumentalists, he is seemingly underappreciated by the masses. Recording with his touring band - bluegrass Danny Barnes (mandolin, clawhammer banjo), Matt DeSpain (Dobro), Josh McMurray (banjo) and John Pennell (bass) - ...
CD review - Good News Though an alumnus of Ralph Stanley's Clinch Mountain Boys as lead singer for the better part of a decade, Charlie Sizemore does not confine his repertoire solely to a mountain or high lonesome sound. While this recording is assuredly bluegrass, it also toggles back and forth with classic sounding country tunes, such as "I Won't Be Far From Here" or "Blame It On Vern." Sizemore delivers convincingly. In reality a successful attorney, one would swear he'd ...
Tom T. Hall has been one of country music's most prolific songwriters for more than 30 years. Known for his love of bluegrass, many of his recordings of his own songs included dobro and banjo in their arrangements. His songs have always translated well into the bluegrass genre. In recent years, many have been recorded by bluegrass artists. It's no surprise then that a bluegrass artist would record an all-Tom T. Hall album. Sizemore, best know for his years in Ralph Stanley's band, has recorded ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook