Sierra Hull reaches Daybreak
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Sierra Hull reaches Daybreak

Tuesday, January 18, 2011 – Mandolin player Sierra Hull will release her second disc, "Daybreak," March 8 on Rounder.

Produced by Union Station bassist Barry Bales, "Daybreak" is the follow-up to her 2008 disc, "Secrets." Hull penned 7 of the 12 songs on "Daybreak." There's a pair of instrumentals and her first-ever western swing number.

Hull has received five IBMA (International Bluegrass Music Association) nominations in the past three years and is the first bluegrass musician to receive Berklee School of Music's Presidential Scholarship.

Songs on the CD are:
1. Easy Come, Easy Go 3:26
2. Don't Pick Me Up 3:13
3. All Because of You 2:34
4. Bombshell 3:22
5. Best Buy 2:59
6. I'll Always Be Waiting for You 2:42
7. The Land of Living 2:58
8. What Do You Say? 2:51
9. Tell Me Tomorrow 2:31
10. Daybreak 4:04
11. Chasin' Skies 2:41
12. Wouldn't Matter to Me 3:21

More news for Sierra Hull

CD reviews for Sierra Hull

CD review - 25 Trips It says a lot for a young player's career that they can create a retrospective of their life through music at age 25. Somehow, Sierra Hull has struck the right note(s) and achieved that goal. Hull is a preternaturally gifted player who commands her mandolin. But her voice is strong, and song writing startling. There's lots to see here. "25 Trips" refers to journeys around the sun, and, at 25, Hull has already had an enviable career. She's been touring for nearly a ...
CD review - Weighted Mind It has been nearly five years since Sierra Hull released a record. 2012's "Daybreak" (also on Rounder) featured startling mandolin playing by Hull and a strong, but still tentative, vocal style. "Weighted Mind" doesn't hold back on either score, and it's a beautiful work of contemporary bluegrass music. No one is the same person at 19 as at 24, and Hull is no different. At 11, she played at the Grand Ole Opry with Alison Krauss. Hull was signed to a record ...
CD review - Daybreak Sierra Hull may have made her mark at 16 with her debut album, but as she sings on the opening track Easy Come, Easy Go from "Daybreak," "I'm not a child any more." Any talk of 'child prodigy' ought to cease with this assured sophomore effort, produced by Union Station's Barry Bales and Hull. She isn't a flashy picker or vocalist, yet her self confident mastery of both shines throughout songs such as the traditional bluegrass of Don't Pick Me Up ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook