Sweeney gets "Concrete" with new music
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Sweeney gets "Concrete" with new music

Thursday, August 4, 2011 – Sunny Sweeney will see if her hit single From a Table Away will translate into a hit album when "Concrete" is out Aug. 12 on Republic Nashville.

The Texan penned 7 of the10 tracks, including the hit single. Brett Beavers produced the set. Sweeney has been on Brad Paisley's H2O II: Wetter & Wilder World Tour.

Songs include:

1. Drink Myself Single - Monty Holmes, Sunny Sweeney

2.From A Table Away - Karyn Rochelle, Bob DiPiero, Sunny Sweeney

3. Staying's Worse Than Leaving - Radney Foster, Jay Clementi, Sunny Sweeney

4. The Old Me - Lori McKenna, Mark D. Sanders

5. Amy - Brennen Leigh, Sunny Sweeney

6. Worn Out Heart - Brett Beavers, Sunny Sweeney

7. Mean As You - Tim Nichols, Brett James, Kelly Lovelace

8. It Wrecks Me - Jay Clementi, Sunny Sweeney

9. Helluva Heart - Deanna Bryant, Heather Little, Sunny Sweeney

10. Fall For Me - Liza Carver, Jaida Dryer, Carolyn Dawn Johnson

Sweeney released an EP earlier this year. She earned kudos for her 2006 indie honky tonk disc "Heartbreaker's Hall of Fame."

More news for Sunny Sweeney

CD reviews for Sunny Sweeney

CD review - Provoked When we last heard from Sunny Sweeney in 2011 with "Concrete," her major label debut on Big Machine showed a very different side of Sweeney, whose album 5 years earlier was appropriately titled "Heartbreakers Hall of Fame." Texas honky tonk and traditional country songs blanketed her debut, but the same could not be said for "Concrete," which was the kind of disc that those bemoaning slicked up country had reason to be right. Sweeney is back and in excellent form on ...
CD review - Concrete If the name Sunny Sweeney seems vaguely familiar, there's good reason: the Texan and her sassy brand of country music have been bouncing around country music circles for years now, thanks to the collective buzz of her 2006 debut "Heartbreaker's Hall of Fame" and a four-song EP released earlier this year. But while the singer has floated around the Texas club circuit and flirted with radio airplay, she didn't enter the mainstream vernacular until single From a Table Away ...
CD review - EP In the past, Sunny Sweeney has professed herself to be a lover of "old school country." Her debut release was shot through with that sensibility; based on this EP preview of her upcoming full-length, that is no longer the case, for good or ill. But then, to expect anything else would be naive. Sweeney is now on a major label, where success is measured in chart position and units moved; the fact that not one of the three singles from her first record, "Heartbreakers Hall of ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube