Aldean rides "Night Train"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Aldean rides "Night Train"

Monday, August 20, 2012 – Jason Aldean will call his upcoming disc "Night Train."

Aldean's 15-song album will be out Oct. 16 on Broken Bow. The title comes from one of the songs on the disc. The lead single is the country/rocker Take A Little Ride, which sold more digital downloads in its first week than any male country artist in history. Currently approaching the Top 10 on the Billboard country songs chart in its fourth week, the song was Aldean's highest chart debut to date.

"I feel really great about the songs we recorded for this album," said Aldean. "There are some surprises on there that might raise a few eyebrows, and there's also some more traditional stuff too. I don't like being put in a box, and I think with every record, we've had a lot of variety...'Night Train' is no different. I got to do a cool uptempo song with Luke (Bryan) and Eric (Church), who've both been out with me over the last two years. I love collaborations like that, and I think the fans dig it when artists get keeps it interesting."

Longtime producer Michael Knox is back for the fifth time, along with Aldean's road band that, in a departure from country's status quo, have played on every song he's recorded in his career.

"There's no formula to music," Aldean said. "It's meant to be experimented with. You're supposed to try things. So I love getting in there with my guys and coming up with sounds that nobody else really uses."

Songs on the disc are:

1. This Nothin' Town (busbee / Neil Thrasher / Wendell Mobley)

2. When She Says Baby (Rhett Akins / Ben Hayslip)

3. Feel That Again (Neil Thrasher / Wendell Mobley / Vicky McGehee)

4. Wheels Rollin' (Neil Thrasher / Wendell Mobley / Hillary Lindsey)

5. Talk (Neil Thrasher / Wendell Mobley)

6. The Only Way I Know (with Luke Bryan and Eric Church) (David Lee Murphy / Ben Hayslip)

7. Take A Little Ride (Dylan Altman / Rodney Clawson / Jim McCormick)

8. I Don't Do Lonely Well (Neil Thrasher / Tom Shapiro / Chuck Wicks)

9. Night Train (Neil Thrasher / Michael Dulaney)

10. 1994 (Thomas Rhett / Luke Laird / Barry Dean)

11. Staring At The Sun (Neil Thrasher / Wendell Mobley / Tony Martin)

12. Drink One For Me (Neil Thrasher / Wendell Mobley / Tony Martin)

13. Black Tears (Canaan Smith / Tyler Hubbard)

14. Walking Away (David Lee Murphy / Rodney Clawson) 15. Water Tower (Jason Sellers / Paul Jenkins / Michael Dulaney)

More news for Jason Aldean

CD reviews for Jason Aldean

CD review - 9 Hollywood may be pushing a broadminded agenda where there are more genders than one can even count, but in Jason Aldean's world, there are only two: tough guys, and the women that love them. There's no confusion it's a guy in the "Camouflage Hat," for example. Also, nothing is said or done without also washing it down with alcohol. The opener,"Tattoos and Tequila," breaks it down into tattoos to remember, and tequila to forget. Within its booze for every ...
CD review - Rearview Town If you liked Jason Aldean's three previous number one albums, you'll like "Rearview Town." He sticks to the winning formula that has brought him past success. The 15 tracks are mainly juiced up, muscular numbers with scorching guitar. Ironically, amid the torrid tempos and high volume that dominate the collection, the ballads are the standouts, especially with the duet with the Miranda Lambert on "Drowns The Whiskey." Instead of whiskey drowning a memory, the inverse ...
CD review - Old Boots, New Dirt Arguing whether or not Jason Aldean's kinda (country) party is, in fact, anything remotely related to true country music is pointless. Aldean is so entrenched in the mainstream country marketplace now, we just need to accept him as he is, the same way we reluctantly accept Taylor Swift as "country." It's mighty tempting to subtitle a review of Aldean's new "Old Boots, New Dirt" release as 'Pickup Trucks & Pickup Lines,' as Aldean spends a little ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook