George Strait releases "22 More Hits"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

George Strait releases "22 More Hits"

Monday, October 15, 2007 – Apparently "50 Number Ones" was not enough for George Strait because he is going to release "22 More Hits" on MCA Nashville Nov. 13

The new set will consist of 22 fan favorites and well known Strait hit singles that despite not quite reaching number 1 at country radio made an impression on country music fans.

"I've had people ask me why this song or that song wasn't on the Number Ones album," says Strait. "If it's their favorite song, I guess they don't care if it was number one on a chart. This album gave me the chance to include some of the fans other favorites and mine."

The songs that Strait compiled for 22 MORE HITS are all timeless hits like "Unwound" (George's first single and first top 10 hit), "If You're Thinking You Want A Stranger," "Amarillo By Morning," "The Fireman," "Cowboys Like Us," "You'll Be There," "Marina Del Ray." The album also includes the brand new single "How 'Bout Them Cowgirls."

The release of "22 More Hits" comes on the heels of the announcement that Strait will begin a nationwide arena tour Jan. 10, 2008 in Austin.

The song list is:
1. How 'Bout Them Cowgirls'
2. Amarillo By Morning
3. The Fireman
4. Gone As A Girl Can Get
5. When Did You Stop Loving Me
6. Marina Del Rey
7. Desperately
8.The Cowboy Rides Away
9. Lovebug
10. Cowboys Like Us
11. She Let Herself Go
12. You'll Be There
13. Don't Make Me Come Over There And Love You
14. What Do You Say To That
15. Drinking Champagne
16. You're Something Special To Me
17. Meanwhile
18. Adalida
19. If You Can Do Anything Else
20. Unwound
21. If You're Thinking You Want A Stranger (There's One Coming Home)
22. Overnight Success

More news for George Strait

CD reviews for George Strait

CD review - Honky Tonk Time Machine At this stage of his nearly four-decades-long career, George Strait sure knows his sweet spot. Take a look at the cover of his 30th studio album, and it's understood that it's the honky tonks that are part and parcel of the tall Texan. Not to mention the title. And that means, Strait is going to be singing about drinking, loving and faith in styles ranging from honky tonk to straight ahead country to Tex-Mex stylings to ballads. You're also going to hear fiddle and pedal steel ...
CD review - Cold Beer Conversation recording front. This surprise release shows an artist now in his early 60s completely capable of being the leading voice for his brand of country music, which is increasingly rare these days. Strait always has enjoyed a voice that resonates and is dexterous depending on the style. And the Texan sticks with the types of styles that brought him to the top - traditional country ("Let It Go," "Goin' Goin' Gone"), Texas swing ("It Takes All Kinds") and Zydeco ...
CD review - The Cowboy Rides Away: Live From AT&T Stadium George Strait has been one of the most dependable country music stars for three decades. In this day and age, the Texan is a certifiable throwback. He's low key, not a self-promoter. All's he has done is churn out hit after hit for decade after decade. He has not been the kind of artist who put his finger up in the air either or trading his cowboy hat for a baseball cap. When looking up the definition of traditional country, George Strait sits at the top. Strait tackles 20 songs on ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook