Garth Brooks launches concert run in Kansas City
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Garth Brooks launches concert run in Kansas City

Tuesday, November 6, 2007 – Garth Brooks began his run of nine shows in Kansas City last night, the only dates he has said he would do in support of "The Ultimate Hits" out today.

The two-hour show covered hits from throughout his career, according to the Kansas City Star.

The set list was:

1) Fever

2) Good Ride Cowboy

3) Rodeo

4) Two of a Kind

5) Thunder Rolls

6) Beaches of Cheyenne

7) The River

8) We Shall Be Free

9) To Make You Feel My Love

10) Unanswered Prayers

11) Two Pina Coladas

12) That Summer

13) Much Too Young

14) Papa Loved Mama

15) Callin' Baton Rouge

16) More Than A Memory

17) Friends In Low Places

18) The Dance

The encore consisted of:

19) Ain't Goin' Down ('Til the Sun Comes Up)

20) Going Around One More Time

21) Sing Me Back Home (Merle Haggard)

22) Night Moves (Bob Seger song)

23) Unwound

24) Vincent (Starry, Starry Night) (Don McLean song)

25) American Pie (Don McLean song)

Brooks also was reported to have sun part of James Taylor's "Fire and Rain."

Trisha Yearwood, Brooks's wife, opened with a 30-inute set.

The final performance on Nov. 14 will be broadcast live in movie theatres around the U.S.

More news for Garth Brooks

CD reviews for Garth Brooks

CD review - Gunslinger If naming your release "Gunslinger," you'd better let it rip and go for a harder country sound, especially if donning a black cowboy hat on the cover. The reality does not exactly match that sentiment for Garth Brooks, but at times he comes mighty close. The high points for Brooks are the three most traditional country songs - a couple of honky tonkers ("Honky-Tonk Somewhere" and "Cowboys and Friends") and a ballad ("Whiskey to Wine"). ...
CD review - Man Against Machine After releasing his debut album in 1989, Garth Brooks released music almost every year until he announced his retirement in 2000. Since then, he has released repackaged hit collections, new music on "Scarecrow" and "The Lost Sessions" and last year's cover song collection "Blame it All on My Roots." Over the years, there have been live recordings, concert and music video collections. The country songwriter became a pop culture icon, transcending genre to become ...
CD review - Blame It All On My Roots - Five Decades of Influences Garth Brooks is back with his first release of "new" material since 2001's "Scarecrow." (Truth in advertising, his "The Ultimate Hits," which actually is part of the new box set, included four new songs back in 2007). And it's quite an undertaking - four CDs of covers - Country Classics, Classic Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul and Melting Pot, an amalgam of country, rock, soul and folk; the two-CD set, "The Ultimate Set" and a DVD of his live performance in Vegas. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube