Tucker opts for a "Sweet Western Sound"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Tucker opts for a "Sweet Western Sound"

Wednesday, April 5, 2023 – Tanya Tucker, who, earlier this week, became the newest inductee into the Country Music Hall of Fame, will release her new album, "Sweet Western Sound," on June 2 on Fantasy Records.

The lead track, "Kindness," is out today.

Produced by Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings, "Sweet Western Sound" reunites the award-winning trio following the release of Tucker's landmark 2019 album, "While I'm Livin'." Her first new album in 17 years won the GRAMMY for Best Country Album as well as Best Country Song for the single, "Bring My Flowers Now."

In addition to songs by Tucker, Carlile and Jennings, the album features contributions from Elton John's songwriter Bernie Taupin, Phil and Tim Hanseroth of Carlile's band, JT Nero of Birds of Chicago, Billy Don Burns and Craig Dillingham plus a voicemail-generated rhyme from Tucker's hero and friend, the great Billy Joe Shaver, which opens and closes the album.

"'Sweet Western Sound ' is another revelation, and I'm excited to see what folks think of our new endeavor," said Tucker. "It's always a trip working with Brandi and Shooter. I didn't know if we'd be working together again on a new album after 'While I'm Livin'.' But we did it! Lots of new things we did this time and I even co-wrote some of the songs, which means a lot to me. Brandi says we're magic together, and I'm starting to believe her."

In celebration of the release, Tucker will return to Nashville's Ryman Auditorium for two shows on June 3 and 4. Tickets go on-sale this Friday at 11 a.m. eastern. Additional tour dates wilbe announced soon.

The track list is:
1. Tanya (written by Billy Joe Shaver, Tanya Tucker)
2. Kindness (written by Tim Hanseroth, Phil Hanseroth)
3. Breakfast In Birmingham featuring Brandi Carlile (written by Brandi Carlile, Bernie Taupin)
4. Waltz Across a Moment (written by Shooter Jennings)
5. Ready As I'll Never Be (written by Brandi Carlile, Tanya Tucker)
6. The List (written by Brandi Carlile, Tanya Tucker)
7. Letter To Linda (written by Tanya Tucker, Shooter Jennings)
8. City of Gold (written by JT Nero)
9. That Wasn't Me (written by Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth, Phil Hanseroth)
10. When The Rodeo Is Over (Where Do the Cowboys Go?) (written by Billy Don Burns, Craig Dillingham)

More news

CD reviews

CD review - Shooter Jennings And The Werewolves Of Los Angeles do Zevon Shooter Jennings' tribute album of Warren Zevon covers is clearly a labor of love. Zevon was a legendary Los Angeles singer/songwriter that somehow has been overlooked by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Jennings, though, has chosen to willfully focus his attention on this great artist's life work with this excellent overview. If you really need any more proof of Zevon's greatness, just give it a listen. The album was recorded live at the Monterey, Cal. "Rebels & ...
CD review - Sweet Western Sound Tanya Tucker once again employed Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings to produce this album, and her producers also had a hand in writing some of its 10 songs. The album, the follow-up to 2019's "While I'm Livin'," which won the GRAMMY for Best Country Album, opens with the distinctive voice of Billy Joe Shaver singing about Tucker on "Tanya," and ends with the rodeo song "When The Rodeo Is Over (Where Do the Cowboys Go?)." It's still a little ...
CD review - In These Silent Days Brandi Carlile many times plays the wise (elder?) sage on "In These Silent Days," an album filled with folkish music and much good advice. She sings amazingly well throughout; she could do that without even trying. There are plenty of memorable songs, too, which makes it amount to a fully satisfying album. The best track is also its shortest. Titled "Stay Gentle," it's one written a little like a sequel to Lori McKenna's "Humble and Kind. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube