Eagleson, Townes win big at CCMAs
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Eagleson, Townes win big at CCMAs

Monday, September 18, 2023 – Jade Eagleson was the big winner at this year's 41st annual Canadian Country Music Association Awards on Sept. 15, winning both the Entertainer of the Year award and Male Artist of the Year awards during the ceremony.

Tenille Townes had a record-setting night, earning her fifth consecutive Female Artist of the Year Award – the first artist to ever achieve this feat. The award was one of the three that she took home.

"This is so cool," Townes said to the crowd in Hamilton, Ontario. "As a kid, I auditioned for Belle in a local theater production of 'Beauty and the Beast.' I did not get the part; I was cast as the Wardrobe, and I danced around on stage in a cardboard box. I tried out for a show called 'The Next Star' – didn't make it past the first round of judges. I'm so proud to celebrate this, but I think it's just as important to celebrate the doubts, and the closed doors, and the 'not yets' that make you dig in, believe in yourself and keep showing up."

Townes also received the Songwriter of the Year Award for "The Thing That Wrecks You," her collaboration with Bryan Adams, alongside co-writers Adams, Daniel Tashian and Kate York. She took home a third trophy for Country Music or Program Special of the Year for her holiday broadcast "Christmas Time with Tenille Townes."

James Barker Band earned their first win in Group or Duo of the Year and also won the TD Aeroplan Visa Fans' Choice Award.

Album of the Year went to Tim & The Glory Boys for their self-titled album, and Lindsay Ell took home the award for Single of the Year for "Right On Time."

Josh Ross won his first CCMA Award for Breakthrough Artist or Group of the Year.

Dean Brody was recognized as the Gary Slaight Music Humanitarian Award recipient.

Brian Edwards and Jason McCoy were inducted into the 2023 Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame.

The show also featured performances from Eagleson, Townes with Train, Hunter Brothers, Kyle McKearney, Madeline Merlo, Jess Moskaluke, Griffen Palmer and Meghan Patrick.

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube