Old Crow Medicine Show goes live for DVD
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Old Crow Medicine Show goes live for DVD

Wednesday, July 1, 2009 – Old Crow Medicine Show will release their first live concert DVD, "Live at the Orange Peel and Tennessee Theatre," on Aug. 18.

Directed by Lee Tucker, who also directed the band's videos for Wagon Wheel and Tell It To Me), "Live at the Orange Peel and Tennessee Theatre" was recorded over two nights last December and features performances of 20 songs - 15 from the band's 3 studio albums ("OCMS," "Big Iron World" and "Tennessee Pusher") - including Tell It To Me, Down Home Girl, Alabama High-Test and Wagon Wheel. The DVD also includes five tracks from their live repertoire not found on their three studio albums: Wheeling Breakdown, Raise A Ruckus, Reuben's Train, Sally Anne and Shack #9.

The track listing is:
1. Hard To Love
2. Down Home Girl
3. Trials And Troubles
4. I Hear Them All
5. Wheeling Breakdown
6. Raise A Ruckus
7. Caroline
8. Mary's Kitchen
9. Alabama High-Test
10. Reuben's Train
11. Hard To Tell
12. Humdinger
13. Next Go 'Round
14. Tennessee Pusher
15. Sally Anne
16. Wagon Wheel
17. Tell It To Me
18. Fall On My Knees
19. Tell It To Me (reprise)
20. CC Rider
21. Shack #9

OCMS, along with Dave Rawlings Machine (featuring Gillian Welch), The Felice Brothers and Justin Townes Earle, will tour as The Big Surprise Tour, a traveling show of collaboration kicking off in Hampton Beach, N.H. on Aug. 4.

Tour dates are:
Aug. 4 - Hampton Beach, NH - Casino Ballroom
Aug. 5 - Boston, MA - House Of Blues
Aug. - New York, NY - Beacon Theatre
Aug. 7 - Philadelphia, PA - Electric Factory
Aug. 9 - Charlottesville, VA - Charlottesville Pavilion
Aug. 10 - Cary, NC - Koka Booth Amphitheatre
Aug. 12 - Louisville, KY - Waterfront Park
Aug. 13 - Nashville, TN - Riverfront Park
Aug. 14 - Knoxville, TN - World's Fair Park

More news for Old Crow Medicine Show

CD reviews for Old Crow Medicine Show

CD review - Jubilee While they started as a bluegrass band, Old Crow Medicine Show (OCMS) in recent years have won two Grammys and are considered one of our best roots bands, meshing Americana, old-timey music, folk and rock into an appealing sound. "Jubilee," their eighth studio album, is likely named for their 25th anniversary although the leadoff track is "Jubilee Jones." Co-producer Matt Ross-Spang returns from their previous effort "Paint This Town" and they again recorded in ...
CD review - Live From the Ryman The very best way - the only way, really - to see Old Crow Medicine Show is live. Like its namesake, the medicine shows of old that were part preaching, part snake oil sales pitches, part old time music and pure entertainment, the band delivers a high-energy performance that keeps the crowd on its feet the entire show. This album includes the band's performances recorded between 2013 and 2019 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, and what better place than the Mother Church of country music ...
CD review - Volunteer Dave Cobb produced "Volunteer" for Old Crow Medicine Show, and while word on the street was that this promised to be a more rocking, less roots music effort, such talk shouldn't dissuade fans of the group's established sound from checking it out. Sure, there may be a little more electric guitar than on past efforts, but this is still very much OCMS music. While rock and roll is not the best term for these songs, perhaps rambunctious best describes some of them. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube