Swift wins songwriting honor, Kristofferson recognized
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Swift wins songwriting honor, Kristofferson recognized

Wednesday, November 11, 2009 – Taylor Swift won top honors at last night's 57th Annual BMI Country Awards, taking home the Song of the Year award for the second consecutive year. Love Story was honored for receiving more radio airplay in the past year than any other country song.

Swift was also honored with BMI's Song of the Year award in 2008 for Teardrops On My Guitar, becoming the youngest songwriter in any genre to win the honor. She is the first female songwriter in history to win back-to-back BMI Song of the Year awards, in any genre.

The ceremony also honored Kris Kristofferson as a BMI Icon. Patty Griffin, Vince Gill and Willie Nelson participated in a tribute to Kristofferson. With four songs among the year's most-performed, Bobby Pinson earned the Songwriter of the Year crown. In addition to co-writing Sugarland's chart-toppers All I Want to Do and Already Gone, Pinson co-composed Toby Keith's poignant She Never Cried in Front of Me, and Josh Gracin's nostalgic We Weren't Crazy. The win marks the first Songwriter of the Year crown for Pinson.

Publishing giant Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville earned its eighth consecutive BMI Country Publisher of the Year title. Through its subsidiary companies Sony/ATV Acuff Rose and Sony/ATV Tree, the company placed 14 songs among the year's top 50, including Jimmy Wayne's Do You Believe Me Now, Billy Currington's Don't, Keith Urban's You Look Good in My Shirt, George Strait's Troubadour and River of Love, Miranda Lambert's Gunpowder & Lead, and Swift's Love Story, Picture to Burn, and Should've Said No.

BMI President & CEO Del Bryant saluted Brooks and Dunn with the BMI President's Award. An honor presented only when an artist has distinctly and profoundly influenced the music industry, the award celebrates Brooks & Dunn's two decades in country, which has made them the most-awarded artists in Academy of Country Music or Country Music Association history.

The 2009 BMI Country Awards also honored songwriters Jeffrey Steele and Lee Thomas Miller, who both added 3 songs to the top 50 most-performed list, as well as Toby Keith, Sugarland's Kristian Bush, Lady Antebellum's Charles Kelley and Dave Haywood, Phil O'Donnell, Jim Beavers, Brett Beavers, James Otto, Clint Daniels, and Dallas Davidson, who each contributed two compositions to the year's top 50.

More news for Taylor Swift

CD reviews for Taylor Swift

Part Behind The Music style documentary and part concert film, Taylor Swift's new Blu-ray release offers an interesting hybrid approach to the typical live performance video - an approach that hits more than it misses. "Journey To Fearless" focuses on Swift's meteoric rise from aspiring grade-school singer/songwriter to award-winning country and pop megastar while sprinkling in live performances. Hardcore Swift fans will find a lot to love on this single-disc set (which is also ...
CD review - Speak Now Taylor Swift has made the best CD of her young career with her fourth CD. The biggest difference is that Swift's singing, spotty on previous releases and live performances, is far far superior here. Swift wrote all 14 songs here, which like her other albums tend to deal with relationships that have gone south. Swift's songwriting always has been one of her strengths, and that continues to be the case here - both lyrically and musically. Put simply, Swift knows a lot about penning ...
CD review - Fearless Taylor Swift took the county world by storm with her huge selling debut and its five hit singles. With a huge marketing push and myspace, Swift was on her way. Kind of like an Avril Lavigne for the teen female country set. Sophomore slump? There's no indication of that. Swift once again writes her material - all 13 songs here with help sometimes from Liz Rose, Colbie Caillat and John Rich. Swift writes of what she knows about - relationships and teen love come and gone in songs speak to her fans. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on  Twitter    Instagram    Facebook