Imus II coming in October with Johnson, Helm
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Imus II coming in October with Johnson, Helm

Wednesday, September 8, 2010 – Don Imus and New West Records announced today "The Imus Ranch Record II," a 13-track record, featuring artists and songs selected by Imus himself, will be out Oct. 26. Artists include Jamey Johnson, Elizabeth Cook, Charlie Robison and Cheap Trick.

The CD will once again benefit the Imus Ranch, a working cattle ranch run by Don and Deirdre Imus, which hosts children who are afflicted with cancer or other serious blood diseases.

"The Imus Ranch Record II" includes five Grammy winners including The Blind Boys of Alabama, Delbert McClinton and The Phantom Blues Band, several Rock & Roll Hall of Fame members and multiple number one hits.

The album kicks off with a brand new recording from Johnson who adds his vocals to Meatloaf's Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad followed by Sam Moore of Sam & Dave with a rendition of Bop, a number 1 hit for Dan Seals in 1985. Hayes Carll, Americana Music Association nominee for New & Emerging Artist this year, contributes Roger Miller's classic country hit King Of The Road and two-time Grammy Award winner Levon Helm pays tribute to Bob Dylan with It Takes A lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry produced by Dylan's long time guitar player Larry Campbell.

Songs are:

1. Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad - Jamey Johnson

2. Bop - Sam Moore

3. You Move Too Fast - Elizabeth Cook

4. Don't Be Cruel - Cheap Trick

5. King Of The Road - Hayes Carll

6. You Can't Be A Beacon If Your Light Don't Shine - The Blind Boys Of Alabama

7. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry - Levon Helm

8. Lover Please - Kinky Friedman

9. My Home Town - Charlie Robison

10. Bread And Butter - The Newbeats

11. Carmelita - Adam Duritz

12. Lone Star Blues - Delbert McClinton

13. Part Time Love - Phantom Blues Band

More news for Jamey Johnson

CD reviews for Jamey Johnson

CD review - Living for a Song: A Tribute to Hank Cochran When ace country songwriter Hank Cochran died in the summer of 2010 it didn't take long to establish who could pull off a fitting tribute to the man who penned timeless classics like Eddy Arnold's Make the World Go Away and Patsy Cline's I Fall to Pieces. Country outlaw Jamey Johnson, who had bonded with Cochran during his final years battling pancreatic cancer, stepped up to the challenge. And boy, has he delivered. Rounding up the likes of Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss, Merle ...
CD review - That Lonesome Song The beginning of Jamey Johnson's second CD has little to do with today's typical country fare. The sound of footsteps are heard with someone telling him, "Mr.'re free to do whateve r you want to do. Just stay out of trouble." He's leaving jail, but maybe the jail was the handcuffs he may have felt in life, including musically, because his semi-hit, "The Dollar," did not prepare listeners for this. The Alabama native gets mighty personal on ...
CD review - The Dollar Jamey Johnson counts traditional country, new country and southern rock among his influences, and the Alabama native melds them together in a unique way with special emphasis on traditional sounds on his 11-song debut album. Johnson is a great storyteller, whether that song is going to cause laughter or tears depends on one's perspective. The self-titled track is about a family spending time together, written from the child's perspective while "Flying Silver Eagle" is a tale of a superficial ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher •
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube