Jason Isbell lays out tour
COUNTRY STANDARD TIME
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive
 

Jason Isbell lays out tour

Monday, March 14, 2011 – Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit announced summer tour dates in support of their upcoming Lightning Rod Records release, "Here We Rest," out April 12. Isbell will hit more than 25 markets, beginning on May 12 in Murrells Inlet, S.C. and making stops along the way in Pittsburgh, Washington DC, Toronto, Chicago, St. Louis, Dallas, Houston, Denver, Seattle and Los Angeles.

Born and raised in Alabama, Isbell titled the album "Here We Rest "after the state's original motto. Isbell's home is at the heart of the album, which he wrote after spending extensive time there following almost two years on the road. The CD was produced by the band and recorded at the Fame Studios in Muscle Shoals, Ala. and at The NuttHouse in Sheffield, Ala.

Fans can get a free download of Codeine at Isbell's web site after providing their email address.

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit (keyboardist Derry deBorja, guitarist Browan Lollar, drummer Chad Gamble and bassist Jimbo Hart) will be heading down to the South By Southwest Music Conference in Austin, TX, where there will have multiple shows previewing "Here We Rest."

The SXSW shows are:

Wedneday, March 16 - 4:40 p.m. -The Billy Reid/K-Swiss Shindig @ Swan Dive (Jason Solo)

Thursday, March 17 - 11 p.m. - Thirty Tigers 10th Anniversary Party @ Swan Dive (Full Band)

Friday, March 18 - 12 p.m. - Rolling Stone Party @ La Zona Rosa (Full Band) and 2:00pm - Brooklyn Vegan Party @ Barbarella (Full Band)

The tour schedule is:
Tuesday, March 15 Baton Rouge, LA Manship Theatre Studio
Friday March 18 San Antonio, TX Sam's Burger Joint
Saturday March 19 Alexandria, LA Spirit's Food and Friends
Friday April 8 Florence, AL Shoals Theatre
Saturday April 9 Birmingham, AL Zydeco
Wednesday April 13 Greenville, SC The Handlebar
Thursday April 14 Atlanta, GA The Earl
Friday April 15 Louisville, KY Headliners
Saturday April 16 Nashville, TN (Record Store Day)
Tuesday, April 19 Raleigh, NC Lincoln Theatre
Wednesday April 20 Charlottesville, VA Jefferson Theatre
Thursday April 21 Philadelphia, PA World Café Live
Friday April 22 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom
Saturday April 23 Boston, MA Brighton Music Hall
Thursday May 12 Murrells Inlet, SC Dead Dog Saloon
Friday May 13 Isle of Palms, SC The Windjammer
Saturday May 14 Wilmington, NC The Soapbox Laundro-Lounge
Sunday May 15 Greensboro, NC Blind Tiger
Tuesday, May 17 Pittsburgh, PA Mr Smalls
Thursday May 19 Harrisburg, PA Abbey Bar at Appalachian Brewing Company
Friday May 20 Washington, DC Rock n Roll Hotel
Saturday May 21 Ithaca, NY The Haunt
Sunday May 22 Toronto, ON Horseshoe Tavern
Tuesday, May 24 Cincinnati, OH Southgate House
Wednesday May 25 Bloomington, IL Castle Theater
Thursday May 26 Chicago, IL Lincoln Hall
Friday May 27 Madison, WI High Noon Saloon
Saturday May 28 St Paul, MN Turf Club
Monday May 30 Wisconsin Dells, WI Showboat Saloon
Tuesday, May 31 St Louis, MO The Old Rock Rock House
Saturday June 4 Austin, TX The Parish
Sunday June 5 Houston, TX Free Press Summerfest
Tuesday, June 7 Lubbock, TX The Blue Light
Thursday June 9 Denver, CO Larimer Lounge
Friday June 10 Salt Lake City, UT State Room
Monday June 13 Vancouver, BC The Biltmore
Tuesday, June 14 Seattle, WA Tractor Tavern
Wednesday June 15 Portland, OR Doug Fir Lounge
Friday June 17 San Francisco, CA Great American Music Hall
Sunday June 19 Los Angeles, CA The Troubadour
Monday June 20 San Diego, CA The Casbah


More news for Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit


CD reviews for Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

CD review - Weathervanes Bob Dylan famously sang about how you don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows, and Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit do more than just gage wind direction with "Weathervanes." Isbell has a unique ability to get deep inside the heads of his various characters to reveal insightful patterns of thought and behavior. Along with his talented 400 Unit band, Isbell has given yet another smart set of songs. Isbell is especially adept at diagnosing pain points. ...
CD review - Georgia Blue Jason Isbell deserves kudos for putting a unique spin on the benefit album. Instead of throwing together a bunch of many times unrelated celebrities to pitch in, Isbell has brought together talented performers to cover Georgia-related songs and songs by Georgia-based artists. All proceeds support Black Voters Matter, Fair Fight and Georgia Stand-Up. Even if you may not support these groups, you will still enjoy this set of mostly familiar songs. The album opens and closes with two R.E.M. songs. ...
CD review - Reunions "It gets easier, but it never gets easy," Jason Isbell reminds us on the song "It Gets Easier." It's a simple couplet, utilizing small words, yet it expresses a big truth. Then, with the song's first verse, Isbell - a recovering alcoholic - relays a dream that finds him drinking again. "I woke up feeling fine/That's how I knew it was a dream," he explains, sounding both afraid and relieved. Yes, these words are personal for Isbell, but his message is ...


©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube