Avett Brothers sell out Charlotte Motor Speedway gig
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Avett Brothers sell out Charlotte Motor Speedway gig

Tuesday, July 21, 2020 – The Avett Brothers announced today that they sold out their first live show in six months with about 1,500 tickets sold for a live drive-in concert at the Charlotte Motor Speedway in Charlotte, N.C. on Aug. 29.

This special hometown show will celebrate the release of "The Third Gleam," out August 28 on American Recordings through Loma Vista Recordings.

Fans will experience the concert socially distanced, from their vehicles, with the stage broadcast on the speedway's 16,000 square-foot television screen.

Twelve years along, the ongoing Gleam series offers a traditional stripped-down sound. The eight songs contemplate injustice, isolation and mortality, as well as love, redemption, and hope. The lead single is "Victory," detailing the struggle to overcome mental darkness.

The track list is:
1. Victory
2. I Should've Spent The Day With My Family
3. Prison To Heaven
4. Back Into The Light
5. Women Like You
6. Untitled #4
7. I Go To My Heart
8. The Fire

More news for The Avett Brothers

CD reviews for The Avett Brothers

CD review - The Gleam III Usually, albums kick off with a sonic banger. And one might assume such is the case with The Avett Brothers' "The Gleam III," which begins with the promising song title, "Victory." However, the chorus to this sadly reflective opener states, "From victory, I accept defeat." That sure dulls the gleam. You can call The Avett Brothers (Seth and Scott Avett) Double Downers, but this sibling act's honesty – even when seriously sad – is refreshing. ...
CD review - True Sadness The Avett Brothers shows oftentimes offer some of the best bluegrass-inspired instrumental music around as brothers Seth and Scott surround themselves with highly skilled players. Albums, on the other hand, can sometimes be a significantly different matter. Songs on the new "True Sadness," for instance, reveal this act's well-developed introspective side. Sonically, "True Sadness" finds the group exploring beyond its rootsy, Americana expectations. ...
CD review - The Carpenter If songs give us glimpses into the songwriter's soul, then love and death weigh heavy on the minds of Scott and Seth Avett, the primary pens behind the music of The Avett Brothers. The evidence is written all over the 12 songs on the North Carolina-based trio's latest album "The Carpenter." Death plays a prominent role in The Once And Future Carpenter, the lead-off track, which offers an unconcerned look at the inevitable end of life with lines like: "And when the black ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube