Tenpenny enjoys "The Low Light Sessions"
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Tenpenny enjoys "The Low Light Sessions"

Friday, March 4, 2022 – Mitchell Tenpenny announced today that he would release "The Low Light Sessions EP" on April 15.

The EP's first track "Horseshoes and Hand Grenades" is available today.

Tenpenny wrote or co-wrote all eight songs. The collection is from Tenpenny's vault of music that he's held close for years. The project is a reflection of who he was several years ago with the track sequencing in timeline order to where he is now. Many of the songs were penned nearly four years ago, with the exception of the devotional, "The Way You Are," written for his now-fiancé, Meghan Patrick.

"My fans are so good to me and react quickly each time I put out new music," Tenpenny said. "I've held onto these songs as I didn't want them to get overshadowed in some of the other recent projects. I wanted to wait until I was in a good place with my life, and I feel I'm strong enough to share them now. I was a different person then, and it feels good to look back and know I've come through that dark time."

The track listing:
1. Horseshoes and Hand Grenades (Mitchell Tenpenny, Dallas Wilson)
2. Dear Jesus (Mitchell Tenpenny, Andy Albert, Thomas Archer)
3. Mama Raised the Hell Out of Me (Mitchell Tenpenny, Jaren Johnston, Zach Kale)
4. My Next Sad Song (Mitchell Tenpenny, Joe Fox, Brandon Paddock, Geoff Warburton)
5. I Know Something She Don't Know (Mitchell Tenpenny, Dallas Wilson)
6. I Can't Get Another You (Mitchell Tenpenny, Brent Anderson, Thomas Archer)
7. Don't Make Me Choose (Mitchell Tenpenny, Dallas Wilson, Claire Douglas)
8. The Way You Are (Mitchell Tenpenny)

Tenpenny rolled out new music for his fans during 2020 and 2021, most recently with a new version of his song "Bucket List" featuring Christian artist Danny Gokey. Last September, he released his "Midtown Diaries," which contains the hit "Truth About You."

More news for Mitchell Tenpenny

CD reviews for Mitchell Tenpenny

CD review - This is the Heavy Mitchell Tenpenny calls his album "This is The Heavy" because "it's big. It's loud. It's in your face and drum heavy," he said. In contrast that is not at all how one would describe most country music. Thus, Tenpenny's lengthy album (a whole 20 tracks!) is country-associated, at best. The song titles, at least, read like country songs, including "More Than Whiskey Does," "Good And Gone" and "Good Place." The latter finds ...
CD review - Naughty House One big clue that Mitchell Tenpenny's "Naughty List" holiday collection is a winner, is how spontaneous and rocking is his version of "Jingle Bell Rock." He doesn't just repeat the Bobby Helms original, but instead makes it all his own. Then again, with a distinctive voice like his, he puts his personal stamp on everything. He rocks out even more during "Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town," even though that one also includes upfront banjo picking. ...
CD review - Neon Christmas EP If all you know about Mitchell Tenpenny is "Alcohol You Later," you may be unprepared for a few of the Christmas present surprises on his "Neon Christmas" EP. Granted, "Snow Angels" is a little too pop for its own good. However, the acoustic guitar-picked subtlety of "O Holy Night" is truly sweet, while the steel guitar-soaked "Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow!" is the exact right winter setting for Tenpenny's vocal vibrato. ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube