Bush goes for "52" at 52
HomeNewsInterviewsCD ReleasesCD ReviewsConcertsArtistsArchive

Bush goes for "52" at 52

Sunday, March 6, 2022 – Kristian Bush of Sugarland will go the solo route again. Turning 52 on March 14 , Bush will offer a 52-song, release , "52," in four volumes.

The first collection, "52 - ATL X BNA," highlights Nashville's country storytelling coupled with Atlanta's R&B recording methods and will be available March 25 via Big Machine Records. Two songs – "Tennessee Plates" and "Everybody Gotta Go Home" – are out now. The Atlanta-based singer named the first group of songs after the letters on his well-worn luggage tag pointing to his decades traveling between Atlanta (ATL) and Nashville (BNA) airports.

"I've been allowed the opportunity to reinvent myself many times, and I've been grateful in every incarnation," Bush said. "Here comes another one."

"Most of the time when something important is about to happen, no matter what culture or religion you call home, we seem to begin with a prayer," Bush said. "'Tennessee Plates' is my prayer to begin this one year of music. It's a prayer to bless the small town I come from, the city next to it that made me dream bigger in its shadow, the people who told me I would never succeed and the mystery ahead of me."

He co-wrote nine of the 10 songs on "52 - ATL X BNA" with Nashville writers and recorded in Atlanta alongside resident R&B musicians, including drummer Jorel "JFly" Flynn, Jerry Freeman of Hornz Unlimited and the Black Bettys.

"Somewhere between the horns, the pedal steel and the background singers, you get a glimpse at what it's like to make country music from Atlanta," Bush said. "It's like putting Lego pieces together."

The collection is the follow-up to his 2015 solo debut "Southern Gravity."

"There's a point I have come to, because I've been home through COVID all this time, I thought, 'I'm at a certain age where I have to admit to myself that no adults are coming to save me.' I've been very busy for the last 15 years, and I'm not going to waste any more time getting these songs out."

The track list is:
1. Everybody Gotta Go Home | Kristian Bush, Taylor Davis, Steve Bogard
2. After The Wine Wears Off | Kristian Bush, Brett James, Andrew DeRoberts
3. Mansion | Kristian Bush, Liz Rose
4. Unbroken | Kristian Bush, Andrew DeRoberts, Bob DiPero
5. I'm With You | Kristian Bush, JT Harding
6. Tennessee Plates | Kristian Bush, Andrew DeRoberts, Rodney Clawson
7. Heart Of Yours | Kristian Bush, Jeffrey East, Dean Alexander
8. World Ain't As Bad As You Think | Luke Dick, Ben Hayslip, Chase McGill
9. Gasoline | Kristian Bush, Bobby Pinson
10. I'm Coming Around | Kristian Bush, Stephen Wrabel, JT Harding

More news for Kristian Bush

CD reviews for Kristian Bush

CD review - Southern Gravity With a tragic stage collapse prior to a Sugarland show and a failed marriage in his rearview mirror, one might expect Kristian Bush's solo debut to be peppered with tales of regret and heartbreak. Yet "Southern Gravity" is surprisingly anything but for the other half of Sugarland, offering up a solid dose of positive vibes, heartfelt love and strong mainstream country appeal. Lead single "Trailer Hitch" sets the tone with a laidback appeal that colors the whole of the ...

©Country Standard Time • Jeffrey B. Remz, editor & publisher • countrystandardtime@gmail.com
AboutCopyrightNewsletterOur sister publication Standard Time
Subscribe to Country Music News Country News   Subscribe to Country Music CD Reviews CD Reviews   Follow us on Twitter  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube